Wigan reveal 2010 squad numbers

Wigan have announced their squad numbers for the new 2010 season with 20 of the 31 players either being Wigan-born or Wigan-trained.

The new list sees a number of players promoted from their 2009 squad positions. The number 1 shirt has gone to Cameron Phelps who replaces the departed Richard Mathers whilst mid-season International signing, Martin Gleeson, moves from number 22 to number 3. Last season’s Player of the Year, Sam Tomkins, is rewarded for a sensational debut season with the number 6 shirt replacing Tim Smith.

Elsewhere, Andy Coley who was a regular starter in 2009 moves from 15 to 10 with Iafeta Paleaaesina moving to number 17. Homegrown backrowers Harrison Hansen and Joel Tomkins take Squad Numbers 11 and 12 respectively whilst Paul Prescott moves up to number 14 (from 19) with Phil Bailey taking shirt number 16.

New signing, Paul Deacon, will wear number 19 while the loyal Warriors Fans remain with Squad Number 18 as recognition for their fantastic support both home and away.

Wigan have also continued their policy of awarding Squad Numbers to exciting youngsters moving up from the Reserve Grade with Stefan Marsh, Joe Mellor, Josh Veivers, Josh Charnley and Johnny Walker all receiving a place in the First Team squad for the first time. They are all training full-time with the First Team squad whereas Ian Thornley cannot yet train full-time until his College course is completed.

Speaking about the Squad Numbers, Chairman Ian Lenagan said: “The Squad Numbers are always eagerly anticipated by supporters and we are delighted that 65% of the players in the squad are either Wigan-born, Wigan-trained or both. This is a developing policy which we are very proud of and shows once again the great local talent in our ranks.”

Head Coach, Michael Maguire, added: “We are fully aware that fans like to be able to have the name and number of their favourite player on their replica shirt but my team selections will be based purely on merit and performance and the players will certainly have to earn their place in the starting line up each week.

“The squad is an exciting mix of experience and quality young players and I am thoroughly enjoying working with them all. The players are responding well to the tough pre-season schedule but there is still a lot of hard work to do before the season starts.”

1. Cameron Phelps
2. Amos Roberts
3. Martin Gleeson
4. George Carmont
5. Pat Richards
6. Sam Tomkins
7. Thomas Leuluai
8. Stuart Fielden
9. Mark Riddell
10. Andy Coley
11. Harrison Hansen
12. Joel Tomkins
13. Sean O’Loughlin
14. Paul Prescott
15. Michael McIlorum
16. Phil Bailey
17. Iafeta Paleaaesina
19. Paul Deacon
20. Karl Pryce
21. Eamon O’Carroll
22. Shaun Ainscough
23. Lee Mossop
24. Darrell Goulding
25. Liam Farrell
26. Ben Davies
27. Stefan Marsh
28. Joe Mellor
29. Chris Tuson
30. Josh Veivers
31. Josh Charnley
32. Johnny Walker

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.