Wigan crowned 2018 Super League champions

Photo courtesy of Richard Long

Wigan gave coach Shaun Wane the perfect send off as they beat Warrington in the 2018 Super League Grand Final.

Wane ended a 30-year association with his hometown club following their 12-4 Grand Final victory over local rivals Warrington Wolves at Old Trafford. He has now won three Grand Finals, two Challenge Cups, a World Club Challenge and a League Leaders’ Shield since he took the head coaching role in 2011.

Warrington finished runners-up for the second time this year following their defeat to Catalans Dragons at Wembley in August. Their search for their first league title since 1955 goes on.

Wane named an unchanged Wigan side to the one that beat Castleford Tigers in the semi-final last week. Taulima Tautai and Gabe Hamlin were the players to miss out of the 19-man squad.

Warrington coach Steve Price also named an unchanged team to the one that beat St Helens last time out. Ryan Atkins and Harvey Livett were the players left out.

The Wolves opened the scoring and it came from ex-Warriors star Josh Charnley, who actually played for Wigan against Warrington in the 2016 Grand Final. Tyrone Roberts failed to convert but they led 4-0 after 14 minutes.

Wigan hit back midway through the first half. Oliver Gildart, who has recently been called-up to the England squad, showed some magic footwork to dance through the Warrington defence and he sent Dom Manfredi over out wide.

Davies scored his first try in his first Grand Final on the half hour mark. He latched onto a pinpoint grubber from George Williams to score.

Wigan went into the changing rooms 8-4 ahead – but not before a melee between Romain Navarrete and Bryson Goodwin in the tunnel.

Tom Lineham came agonisingly close to scoring for Warrington shortly after the restart – but he was only denied by a try-saving tackle by Manfredi.

With three minutes of the match remaining, Manfredi produced an excellent finish in the corner to all but seal the win for the Warriors. Tomkins failed to convert but Wigan were eight points ahead.

Toby King thought he had scored for Warrington late on but it was chalked off by the video referee because of a knock on. Wigan held on for a 12-4 win and it means Wane, Tomkins, John Bateman and Ryan Sutton bow out of Wigan as Grand Final winners.

Wigan: Tomkins; Manfredi, Gildart, Sarginson, Davies; Williams, Leuluai; Navarrete, Powell, Flower, Greenwood, Bateman, O’Loughlin. Subs: Escare, Sutton, Farrell, Clubb.

Warrington: Ratchford; Lineham, Goodwin, T King, Charnley; K Brown, Roberts; Hill, Clark, Cooper, Thompson, Hughes, Westwood. Subs: Philbin, Murdoch-Masila, G King, Patton.

Harry Sunderland Trophy winner: Stefan Ratchford. The Warrington full-back was unlucky to be on the losing side but he can certainly be proud of his performance.

Attendance: 64,892

About Drew Darbyshire 8176 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.