Wigan 2019 squad numbers: Morgan Escare handed No. 1 shirt

Wigan have revealed their squad numbers for 2019, and Morgan Escare has beaten Zak Hardaker to the No. 1 shirt.

Many numbers have remained the same for the Warriors, with notable changes seeing Escare handed the number one shirt, taking over from the departed Sam Tomkins.

Zak Hardaker will wear the number 20 shirt.

England international Joe Greenwood now has possession of the number 11 shirt, while Sam Powell and Tommy Leuluai have swapped numbers.

Grand Final hero Dom Manfredi retains the number 21 jersey, with Tom Davies and Joe Burgess retaining the number two and five shirts respectively. Liam Marshall swaps 22 for 17.

New arrival Joe Bullock will wear number 22 while Ireland international Liam Byrne will take the number 36 jersey.

Warriors’ executive director Kris Radlinski said: “Releasing the squad numbers is a natural line in the sand from the previous season as we look ahead to an exciting 2019 under Adrian Lam.

“They are a few changes of note in the numbers that I’m sure will have grabbed people’s attention.

“I don’t envisage this being our final list of players for when we head into our opening round fixture against St Helens.

“We are still working on the possibility of bringing in one or two new faces into the group. Adrian has spent his opening week familiarising himself with our squad and looking at potential areas that need strengthening.

“We will also be looking at what opportunities arise for our fringe players to go out and gain some experience playing around the Championship.”

Wigan 2018 squad numbers:

1 Morgan Escare

2 Tom Davies

3 Dan Sarginson

4 Oliver Gildart

5 Joe Burgess

6 George Williams

7 Tommy Leuluai

8 Tony Clubb

9 Sam Powell

10 Ben Flower

11 Joe Greenwood

12 Liam Farrell

13 Sean O’Loughlin

14 Romain Navarrete

15 Willie Isa

16 Gabe Hamlin

17 Liam Marshall

19 Taulima Tautai

20 Zak Hardaker

21 Dom Manfredi

22 Joe Bullock

23 Chris Hankinson

24 Ollie Partington

25 Craig Mullen

26 Josh Woods

27 Jake Shorrocks

28 Jack Wells

29 Liam Paisley

30 Josh Ganson

31 Liam Forsyth

32 Samy Kibula

33 Callum Field

34 Caine Barnes

35 James Worthington

36 Liam Byrne

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.