Warrington & Huddersfield join Parliamentary Rugby League Group

The All Party Parliamentary Rugby League Group has welcomed two Super League clubs as associate members this week.

Warrington Wolves and Huddersfield Giants have both confirmed this week that they have joined the group, which looks to give rugby league a voice in the corridors of power.

“I’m very pleased Wolves have joined the Parliamentary Rugby League Group,” said the group’s Vice-Chairman David Mowat, who represents Wolves in the Warrington South constituency.

“The Rugby League Group is very active in Westminster and has become a powerful voice for the sport. 

“The club is not without representation in Parliament, as well as me as their local MP, the club and the group share a president in Lord Hoyle, but now they have joined the Parliamentary Rugby League Group, fellow MPs can hear their thoughts directly. 

“I look forward to welcoming them to meetings.”

Colne Valley MP and Huddersfield fan Jason McCartney was also delighted that the Giants had joined the group, alongside Warrington, Hull KR, Leeds Rhinos and Wigan Warriors. 

Other clubs in the Group are Championship Club Batley Bulldogs, League One club Oxford RL, and community club Brentwood Eels.

“As a Huddersfield Giants fan, I am delighted that the Giants have joined the Parliamentary Rugby League Group as associate members,” said McCartney.

“I’m always very happy to feed-in issues about the sport, the Giants and clubs in my constituency to the All-Party Group, Parliamentary colleagues and government ministers, but associate membership allows others in Parliament to hear first-hand from the club.

“I’m very much looking forward to the hearing more from the Giants at future group meetings.”

As well as clubs, the Parliamentary Group welcomes other organisations and individuals as Associate Members.  All agree to the Group’s constitution and its sole remit to “support the game of rugby league football.”

Associate Members are welcome to take part in the Group’s monthly meetings in the palace of Westminster and attend the Group’s Annual Dinner in the House of Lords.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.