Warrington heroes to make cup draw

Wembley heroes Michael Monaghan and Lee Briers will return to Wembley next Tuesday to make the draws for the preliminary and first rounds of the 2010 Challenge Cup.

Monaghan, who collected the Lance Todd Trophy as man of the match in last year’s Carnegie Challenge Cup Final victory over Huddersfield Giants, and his Warrington Wolves team-mate Briers, will be guests of honour at Leeds Metropolitan University where representatives of 65 Rugby League clubs from around the country will gather for the two draws on Tuesday December 8.

All the teams from the National Conference League Premier, First and Second Divisions are included in the draw along with the winners of a number of regional community leagues and cups.

These include the Champions of the Yorkshire, Hull and District, Cumberland, North West Counties and Pennine Leagues as well as the winners of the Lancashire and Yorkshire County Cups and Cumberland nominees Broughton Red Rose.

Other teams involved are the Scottish and Welsh Champions – Edinburgh Eagles and Blackwood Bulldogs, eight University teams and the RAF, Royal Navy and British Army.

Representatives from each team have been invited to attend the draw which will take place at around 7.00pm on Tuesday December 8 in the Headingley Campus at Leeds Met.

The early stages of the competition are split into two pools, Pools A and B. Pool A contains the 38 National Conference League clubs, the five regional League winners, the Lancashire and Yorkshire County Cup winners and Broughton Red Rose.

Pool B contains the Combined Services teams, the British Police, student teams, Scottish champions, Welsh champions and Rugby League Conference teams.

The Preliminary Round draw will be made in two stages. In the first, 10 matches will be drawn from Pool A, with 26 clubs receiving a bye to the First Round. Three matches will then be drawn from Pool B, with 10 clubs receiving a bye to the First Round, where they will be joined by the three Services teams.

The First Round draw will also be made in two stages. Firstly, 18 matches will be drawn from Pool A and then eight matches will be drawn from Pool B.

No clubs will receive byes in the First Round.

The Preliminary Round ties will be played over the weekend of January 2 and 3 with the First Round ties scheduled to be played over the weekend of January 23 and 24.

Pool A

Leigh Miners Rangers (NCL Premier)
Siddal (NCL Premier)
East Hull (NCL Premier)
York Acorn (NCL Premier)
Leigh East (NCL Premier)
Skirlaugh (NCL Premier)
Hull Dockers (NCL Premier)
Wigan St Judes (NCL Premier)
West Hull (NCL Premier)
Oulton Raiders (NCL Premier)
Wigan St Patricks (NCL Premier)
Wath Brow Hornets (NCL Premier)
Ince Rose Bridge (NCL Premier)
Widnes St Maries (NCL Premier)
Thatto Heath Crusaders (NCL1)
Rochdale Mayfield (NCL1)
Thornhill Trojans (NCL1)
Stanningley (NCL1)
Castleford Panthers (NCL1)
West Bowling (NCL1)
Bradford Dudley Hill (NCL1)
Saddleworth Rangers (NCL1)
Millom (NCL1)
Normanton Knights (NCL1)
Milford Marlins (NCL1)
Myton Warriors (NCL1)
Heworth (NCL1)
Eastmoor Dragons (NCL2)
Oldham St Annes (NCL2)
Shaw Cross Sharks (NCL2)
Ovenden (NCL2)
Stanley Rangers (NCL2)
Egremont Rangers (NCL2)
Crosfields (NCL2)
Castleford Lock Lane (NCL2)
Waterhead (NCL2)
Eccles & Salford Juniors (NCL2)
East Leeds (NCL2)
Hunslet Warriors (Yorkshire)
Orchard Park & Greenwood (Hull and District)
Kells (Cumberland League)
Halton Simms Cross (North West Counties)
Sharlston Rovers (Pennine)
Broughton Red Rose (Cumberland nomination)
Lancashire Cup winners
Yorkshire Cup winners

Pool B

RAF (Combined Services)
Navy (Combined Services)
Army (Combined Services)
Hull University (Student)
Birmingham University (Student)
Leeds Met University (Student)
Edge Hill University (Student)
Gloucestershire University (Student)
St Mary’s University (Student)
Northumbria University (Student)
Loughborough University (Student)
Edinburgh Eagles (Scotland champions)
Blackwood Bulldogs (Wales champions)
West London Sharks  (RLC)
Nottingham Outlaws (RLC)
Warrington Wizards (RLC)
Featherstone Lions (RLC)
Dewsbury Celtic (RLC)
British Police

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.