Wakefield Trinity receive planning approval for Belle Vue redevelopment

Belle Vue Wakefield

Super League side Wakefield Trinity have received planning approval to make redevelopments at Belle Vue.

The West Yorkshire club have confirmed that Wakefield Council approved the planning application for the redevelopment of the Be Well Support Stadium together with the application in respect of Plot 8 at Newmarket.

The approvals pave the way for work to start on the redevelopment in early 2022; subject to consents and formal signing of a S106 agreement. This has already been agreed in principle.

Wakefield chairman John Minards said: “This is fantastic news and marks another significant milestone in our plans to develop the Be Well Support Stadium at Belle Vue into a Community Stadium for the people of Wakefield.

“We look forward to completing the necessary legal processes in January and making a start in earnest shortly thereafter.”

TRINITY: Wakefield pitch sale could net £44k

Wakefield Trinity announce 2022 squad numbers

Jacob Miller Wakefield
Jacob Miller in action for Wakefield

Wakefield have announced their squad numbers for the 2022 season, with captain Jacob Miller retaining the number six jersey.

Tom Lineham, who has arrived from Warrington, takes the number five shirt from Liam Kay. Ireland international Kay has been given the number 19.

Eddie Battye has taken the number eight shirt from fan favourite David Fifita, who has taken 35, the number he wore when he first arrived at the club in 2016.

Scotland international Liam Hood, who has joined Wakefield from relegated club Leigh, will wear nine. Kyle Wood, who held the number last season, has gone to Championship side Halifax.

Jay Pitts has taken 13 from Joe Westerman, who has returned to Castleford ahead of 2022.

Wakefield’s latest recruit Jai Whitbread will wear 15. The Australian prop joined Leigh towards the end of last season from NRL side Gold Coast Titans.

Wakefield 2022 squad numbers:

1 Max Jowitt

2 Tom Johnstone

3 Bill Tupou

4 Reece Lyne

5 Tom Lineham

6 Jacob Miller

7 Mason Lino

8 Eddie Battye

9 Liam Hood

10 Tinirau Arona

11 Matty Ashurst

12 Kelepi Tanginoa

13 Jay Pitts

Follow Love Rugby League on Instagram

14 Jordy Crowther

15 Jai Whitbread

16 James Batchelor

17 Lee Gaskell

18 Lee Kershaw

19 Liam Kay

20 Jack Croft

21 Brad Walker

22 Yusuf Aydin

23 Sid Adebiyi

24 Harry Bowes

25 Sam Eseh

26 Pat O’Donovan

27 Lewis Murphy

28 Dane Windrow

29 Isaac Shaw

30 Corey Hall

35 David Fifita

READ MORE: Wakefield Trinity: The Wimbledon of Super League

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.