Wakefield Trinity 2023 squad numbers: New recruits get their jerseys

Wakefield Trinity 2023 squad numbers: New recruits get their jerseys
(L-R) Renouf Atoni, Jorge Taufua and Kevin Proctor will all be at Belle Vue in 2023

Wakefield Trinity confirmed their squad numbers ahead of the 2023 Super League season.

Trinity announced a squad number per day in December as part of their social media advent calendar. They have confirmed 30 squad numbers.

Mark Applegarth’s side have made a number of new recruits prior to next season getting underway, including Kiwi forwards Renouf Atoni and Kevin Proctor from the NRL. They will wear 17 and 19 respectively.

Samisoni Langi, who has represented Tonga and France internationally, has joined the club following his release from Catalans. He will wear 21.

Another new face at Belle Vue is former Warrington half-back Morgan Smith, who has been plying his trade in the Championship in recent seasons. The 24-year-old has received the number 20 jersey.

Lee Gaskell takes the number six shirt from former captain Jacob Miller, who has linked up with Castleford on a three-year deal. The 32-year-old will partner Mason Lino in the halves next season.

Eddie Battye and Jai Whitbread will wear the starting front-row shirts in 2023 with eight and 10 respectively.

Meanwhile, Jorge Taufua takes the number two shirt following the departure of Tom Johnstone, who has joined Catalans. Corey Hall has also been promoted to starting shirt number three, having worn 30 in 2022. He takes the shirt from Bill Tupou, who was forced to retire in July due to injury.

Matty Ashurst has been appointed as the club’s new captain ahead of the new season. Versatile forward Jordan Crowther has been appointed the club’s vice-captain.

Wakefield Trinity 2023 squad numbers:

1. Max Jowitt

2. Jorge Taufua

3. Corey Hall

4. Reece Lyne

5. Tom Lineham

6. Lee Gaskell

7. Mason Lino

8. Eddie Battye

9. Liam Hood

10. Jai Whitbread

11. Matty Ashurst

12. Kelepi Tanginoa

13. Jay Pitts

14. Jordan Crowther

15. Liam Kay

16. Josh Bowden

17. Renouf Atoni

18. Lee Kershaw

19. Kevin Proctor

20. Morgan Smith

21. Samisoni Langi

22. Rob Butler

23. Lewis Murphy

24. Harry Bowes

25. Sam Eseh

26. Dane Windrow

27. Robbie Butterworth

28. Ellis Roberts

29. Joe Law

30. Olly Pratt

More Super League content

I’ve been at clubs that have had rebuilding phases: Paul Vaughan relishing Warrington move

Brett Ferres on the market for 2023 following “disappointing” Featherstone exit

Rohan Smith provides update on Nene Macdonald’s injury & captaincy for 2023

PODCAST: Listen to all the Love Rugby League podcasts here

About Drew Darbyshire 8623 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.