Uncapped trio in England squad for Denver Test

Wayne Bennett has included uncapped trio Jake Connor, Luke Thompson and Tommy Makinson in his 19-man England squad for the Denver Test against New Zealand.

Hull FC star Connor has been in fine form for the Black and Whites this year and was called up to the England Knights Performance Squad in March and has impressed the England coaching staff enough to earn his place in the senior squad for the trip to Colorado.

St Helens prop Luke Thompson was also named in the Knights squad at the start of the year and has been one of the in-form front-rowers in Super League. Thompson’s team-mate, Tommy Makinson, will also be hoping for his first senior international cap.

Saints lead the way with five of the thirteen Super League based players selected, with Wigan Warriors providing three of the squad as Sean O’Loughlin, John Bateman and George Williams all take their place in the 19-man squad.

NRL stars George Burgess, Sam Burgess, Tom Burgess, James Graham, Gareth Widdop and Elliott Whitehead have also been selected.

The mid-season Test between England and New Zealand will take place at the Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Denver, on Saturday June 23. Fans in the UK can watch live from 9pm on BBC Two.

England 19-man squad for Denver Test:

John Bateman (Wigan Warriors)

George Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Sam Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Tom Burgess (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Jake Connor (Hull FC)

James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Ryan Hall (Leeds Rhinos)

Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves)

Jonny Lomax (St Helens)

Tommy Makinson (St Helens)

Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants)

Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors)

Mark Percival (St Helens)

Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves)

James Roby (St Helens)

Luke Thompson (St Helens)

Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)

George Williams (Wigan Warriors)

Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.