Trio inducted into Rugby League Roll of Honour

Natalie Gilmour, Ron Girvin and Keith Burhouse have been added to the Rugby League Roll of Honour.

The three new inductees, who join a list that now totals 30 members, were officially recognised for their exceptional service both on and off the playing field, at the Rugby League Lions’ annual luncheon.

Gilmour’s inclusion comes as a result of her role in developing Women’s Rugby League. To date, she has enjoyed a 15-year international career, appeared in every tour and international tournament since 2000, and captained her country since 2007 – all the while juggling massive career demands in the Police Firearms Department and contributing massively to the community game.

Girvin’s has been heavily involved in the sport since writing about the amateur game in 1955 to working in administration for the North West Counties (NWC) competition for over three decades. Ron has received a multitude of awards for his service to the game, and was last year made President of North West Rugby League.

Burhouse has played an active role as a volunteer for 30 years. A Huddersfield fan for more than six decades, Keith has dedicated himself to helping his beloved club, carrying out a vast array of voluntary tasks from replacing roofs and rewiring the old Fartown ground, to driving the team bus and raising money for associated charities.

RFL Chief Operating Officer Ralph Rimmer had this to say:

“On behalf of everyone involved in Rugby League, I would like to congratulate Natalie, Ron and Keith on their deserved induction on to the Roll of Honour.

“The important contributions these three people have made in their respective roles have had a profound effect on the game.”

The RFL Roll of Honour in full:

2003 – Frank Myler

2004 – Tommy Sale, Johnny Whiteley MBE

2005 – Harold Swift MBE, Bev Risman, Maurice Oldroyd

2007 – Tony Gartland,  Douglas Hird, Stan Wall

2008 – Hilda Hardy, Ray French, Mike Stephenson

2009 – Peter Fox, Fred Lindop MBE, Ron Earnshaw, Vic Wakeling  

2010 – Neville Smith

2011 – Martin Coyd, June Kennedy, Raymond Fletcher

2012 – Andrew Cudbertson, Ron England, Mike Nicholas, Jackie Reid MBE, Ray Unsworth

2013 – Tim Adams, HH Judge James Spencer

2014 – Natalie Gilmour, Ron Girvin, Keith Burhouse

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.