Tomkins and Myler pair up for England

Wigan’s Sam Tomkins and new Warrington scrum-half Richie Myler will line-up at half back for England against Wales.

Tomkins, 20, makes his England debut while Myler, 19, will look to carry on from where he left off, having scored a record-breaking 34 points in the mid-season mauling of France.

Hull winger Tom Briscoe is also handed a debut in the side which will be captained by experienced Warrington prop Adrian Morley.

South Sydney bound Sam Burgess starts at loose forward, with Wigan back-rower Sean O’Loughlin selected in the centres alongside Castleford’s Michael Shenton.

Scott Moore gets the nod at hooker in a side missing players who played for Leeds or St Helens in last weekend’s Super League Grand Final.

Paul Sykes starts at full back, while Morley is joined in the pack by Warrington team-mates Garreth Carvell and Ben Westwood and Wests Tigers star Gareth Ellis.

Wales will be captained by Celtic forward Ben Flower in coach Iestyn Harris‘ first game in charge.

The game takes place at Brewery Field, Bridgend on Saturday, 6.15pm kick off.

Wales (from): Matt Barron (Gateshead Thunder), Ashley Bateman (Celtic Crusaders), Anthony Blackwood (Celtic Crusaders), Neil Budworth (Celtic Crusaders), Geraint Davies (Celtic Crusaders), Ross Divorty (Featherstone Rovers), Gil Dudson (Celtic Crusaders), Ben Flower (Celtic Crusaders, capt), Rhys Griffiths (Warrington), Jordan James (Celtic Crusaders), Elliot Kear (Celtic Crusaders), Craig Kopzcak (Bradford), Lewis Mills (Celtic Crusaders), Christiaan Roets (Bridgend Blue Bulls), Ian Watson (Leigh), Ian Webster (Central Comets), Lloyd White (Celtic Crusaders), Lee Williams (Celtic Crusaders), Rhys Williams (Warrington).

England: Paul Sykes (Bradford); Peter Fox (Hull KR), Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan), Michael Shenton (Castleford), Tom Briscoe (Hull FC); Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Richard Myler (Salford); Adrian Morley (Warrington, capt), Scott Moore (Huddersfield), Garreth Carvell (Warrington), Gareth Ellis (Wests Tigers), Ben Westwood (Warrington), Sam Burgess (Bradford). Replacements: Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook (Harlequins), Mickey Higham (Warrington), Chris Bridge (Warrington), Danny Tickle (Hull FC).

About James Gordon 7109 Articles
Love Rugby League editor. Founded the website back in 2005. Worked with a range of clubs and sponsors during that time. Also commentates for BBC.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.