Thurston out of Kangaroos Four Nations squad

Jonathan Thurston will not be part of the Australia squad for this year’s Four Nations, with a shoulder injury ruling out the North Queensland Cowboys stand-off.

The 31-year-old enjoyed a fine NRL campaign in 2014, with his club reaching the play-offs, and him sharing the Dally M medal with Parramatta Eels full-back Jarryd Hayne.

“It was a really difficult decision to have to make,” Thurston said.

“But in the end, the doctor really took it out of my hands.

“You never want to miss playing rep footy, and I’m very proud of my record in that area, but this time there’s no other option.”

The final Australian squad will be announced on October 12.


Ben Hunt, Corey Parker, Josh McGuire, Sam Thaiday (Broncos), Gavin Cooper, Matt Scott, Michael Morgan (Cowboys), Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Beau Scott, Kurt Gidley, Willie Mason (Knights), Matt Moylan, Josh Mansour, Adam Docker (Panthers), Anthony Milford, Jack Wighton, Jarrod Croker, Josh Papalii (Raiders), Daniel Tupou, Michael Jennings, James Maloney, Mitchell Pearce, Boyd Cordner, Aidan Guerra, Jake Friend, Dylan Napa (Roosters), Anthony Watmough, Brenton Lawrence, Daly Cherry Evans (Sea Eagles), Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk, Ryan Hoffman, William Chambers (Storm), Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah (Tigers), Greg Bird (Titans), Jacob Lillyman (Warriors).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.