Three Super League players in Tonga squad

Three players from Super League are included in the Tonga squad for the World Cup.

Huddersfield forward Ukuma Ta’ai, St Helens back-rower Willie Manu and Mickey Paea, who will move from Hull KR to Hull FC over the close season, have made the selection, with Manu and Paea the only survivors from the last World Cup.

Manly’s Penrith-bound prop Brent Kite will captain the team, and there are 11 NRL regulars in the squad, including Fuifui Moimoi and Daniel Tupou.

There is, however, just one player selected from the nation’s domestic competition, in the shape of Sydney Havea, from Liahona Old Boys.

Full squad: Brent Kite (Manly), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Glen Fisi’iahi (NZ Warriors), Mahe Fonua (Melbourne Storm), Daniel Foster (Penrith Panthers), Sydney Havea (Liahona Old Boys), Siliva Havili (NZ Warriors), Konrad Hurrell (NZ Warriors), Samisoni Langi (Sydney Roosters), Siuatonga Likiliki (Newcastle Knights), Sika Manu (Penrith Panthers), Willie Manu (St Helens), Nesiasi Mataitonga (Cronulla Sharks), Fuifui Moimoi (Paramatta Eels), Ben Murdoch-Masila (Wests Tigers), Mickey Paea (Hull KR), Pat Politoni (Cronulla Sharks), Nafe Seluini (Sydney Roosters), Ukuma Ta’ai (Huddersfield Giants), Jorge Taufua (Manly), Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys), Peni Terepo (Parramatta Eels), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Siosaia Vave (Melbourne Storm).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.