The eight nations who will take part in 2021 Wheelchair World Cup

The eight nations who will take part in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup wheelchair tournament have been announced.

The RLWC2021 will see the men’s, women’s and wheelchair tournaments played concurrently for the first time. International nations were asked to submit their expressions of interest earlier this year for RLWC2021 and Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) representatives to review.

Each nation was assessed against set criteria that reviewed their current international and domestic infrastructure, their plans for growth and their potential impact on RLWC2021. The draw for the tournament will take place in November 2019.

The nations confirmed for the wheelchair tournament are: England (hosts), Australia, France (holders), Norway, Scotland, Spain, United States of America and Wales.

RLIF chief executive Nigel Wood said: “Wheelchair rugby league is one of the most spectacular versions of a fantastic sport it is as close to the running game of rugby that could ever be devised to be played in a wheelchair.

“The Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup has demonstrated in the most recent past that it can deliver tremendous excitement for the players and the spectators alike. We expect RLWC2021 to take this exceptional sporting concept to a whole new level.

“Once again we are seeing new nations participating and growing the sport. It is a key priority to the RLIF, as the guardians of the development of our sport globally, to work with our members to grow and develop the participation in all aspects of rugby league. The RLIF Wheelchair World Cup is a further example of that important role.

“If you are only prepared to give an hour of your life to rugby league; then give to it Wheelchair rugby league. I promise that you will be both amazed and humbled.”

More on site

Darcy Lussick banned for punching Jack Bussey

MP calls for rail chiefs to stop Challenge Cup final transport chaos

Harry Newman commits long-term future to Leeds

Morgan Knowles and Regan Grace named in Wales squad

Matt Scott to retire at end of the season

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Blake Austin reveals why now the time is right for him to switch international allegiance –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.