The all-time Super League Dream Team

Could any team containing two Jamie Peacocks ever be beaten?

Love Rugby League has been trawling the record books to come up with an all-time Super League Dream Team – and Peacock has earned selection twice!

The former England captain has been picked in the annual Dream Team more times than anybody else. But he’s done it in two different positions, topping the charts for selection at prop (four times) and second row (five times).

There were other complications elsewhere. Sam Tomkins has been picked for the Dream Team five times, but only three of those selections have been at full-back, where he is edged out by Kris Radlinski.

His first two selections were at stand-off, where he is joint with Iestyn Harris and Danny McGuire – but Tomkins gets the nod because of his overall total of Dream Team appearances.

In the centres Keith Senior was a runaway winner while Jamie Lyon was one of seven other players to earn selection twice. In our eyes Lyon’s Man of Steel puts him just ahead of Paul Newlove, Gary Connolly, Steve Renouf, Martin Gleeson, Matt Gidley and George Carmont.

And Adrian Lam can count himself unlucky, having been selected for the Dream Team three times at scrum-half. That’s the same total as Rob Burrow, but the Leeds man also has six Grand Final rings to throw into the pot – so he gets the nod.

There are some shocks, too. There’s no place for Gareth Ellis, Paul Sculthorpe, Sean Long or Stuart Fielden.

At the opposite end of the spectrum, Matt Daylight (1999) was the most unlikely name we found when searching back through the years.

But without further ado, here it is: the all-time Super League Dream Team…

1. Kris Radlinski (5 picks: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002)
2. Jason Robinson (5 picks: 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000)
3. Jamie Lyon (2 picks: 2005, 2006)
4. Keith Senior (5 picks: 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010)
5. Ryan Hall (3 picks: 2009, 2010, 2012)
6. Sam Tomkins (2 picks: 2009, 2010)
7. Rob Burrow (3 picks: 2005, 2007, 2008)
8. Jamie Peacock (4 picks: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2013)
9. Keiron Cunningham (7 picks: 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008)
10. Terry O’Connor (4 picks: 1996, 2000, 20001, 2002)
11. Jamie Peacock (5 picks: 2000, 2001, 20002, 2003, 2005)
12. Ben Westwood (4 picks: 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012)
13. Andy Farrell (6 picks: 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2003)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.