The 87 players that were nominated for Man of Steel

Ben Barba was crowned the 2018 Steve Prescott Man of Steel on Monday night – but a total of 87 players were nominated for the award.

Each Super League player gets to pick their top three for the award, a list which was published amidst some controversy by the RFL after the awards dinner.

Several players have received criticism for their picks, with accusations that they have chosen their mates rather than genuine contenders for the award, while Hull KR’s Danny Addy received a nomination despite not playing a game all season.

We’ve sifted through the nominations to list every player, by club, that received at least one nomination for the prize.

Castleford (4): Alex Foster, Jake Trueman, Jamie Ellis, Paul McShane

Catalans (9): David Mead, Fouad Yaha, Jason Baitieri, Jodie Broughton, Michael McIlorum, Remi Casty, Sam Moa, Tony Gigot, Josh Drinkwater.

Huddersfield (4): Jermaine McGillvary, Leroy Cudjoe, Louis Senior, Oliver Roberts.

Hull FC (6): Albert Kelly, Carlos Tuimavave, Hakim Miloudi, Jake Connor, Jamie Shaul, Jez Litten.

Hull KR (6): Adam Quinlan, Chris Atkin, Craig Hall, Danny Addy, Danny McGuire, Robbie Mulhern

Leeds (5): Anthony Mullally, Ash Handley, Brad Singleton, Cameron Smith, Jack Walker

Salford (6): Greg Burke, Jake Bibby, Jake Shorrocks, Luke Burgess, Robert Lui, Ryan Lannon

St Helens (15): Ben Barba, Danny Richardson, Dom Peyroux, James Roby, Jon Wilkin, Jonny Lomax, Kyle Amor, Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Luke Thompson, Mark Percival, Matty Lees, Regan Grace, Theo Fages, Tommy Makinson, Zeb Taia.

Wakefield (6): Ben Jones-Bishop, Bill Tupou, Justin Horo, Matty Ashurst, Pauli Pauli, Tom Johnstone.

Warrington (11): Ben Murdoch-Masila, Ben Westwood, Bryson Goodwin, Chris Hill, Daryl Clark, George King, Jack Hughes, Joe Philbin, Josh Charnley,  Stefan Ratchford, Tyrone Roberts.

Widnes (2): Krisnan Inu, Sam Wilde.

Wigan (13): Dan Sarginson, George Williams, John Bateman, Liam Farrell, Morgan Escare, Oliver Gildart, Romain Navarette, Sam Powell, Sam Tomkins, Sean O’Loughlin, Thomas Leuluai, Tom Davies, Tony Clubb.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.