Thackeray shown the door by Widnes for 2012

Widnes have told four of their current players that they won’t be getting Super League contracts for 2012.

The quartet includes Anthony Thackeray, who was the Vikings’ top try scorer in 2010 and a pivotal figure in the 2009 Northern Rail Cup triumph which earned them their right to apply for a licence.

Thackeray is joined by hooker Kirk Netherton, centre James Ford and back-rower Chris Gerrard in learning that their services will not be required beyond 2011.

Vikings’ Director of Rugby Paul Cullen, said: “This is a direct result of the performances so far this season at first team level and is phase one of the clubs’ 2011 assessment process.

“The club would like to sincerely thank the four players for their contribution toward our successful Super League licence application. All four of them have taken the decision with dignity and maturity and have been model professionals throughout.

“We would also like to thank all of our supporters, especially the VIQI fundraising scheme for their ongoing support.”

Meanwhile, Simon Finnigan has been appointed as club captain for the remainder of the season with Chaz I’Anson as vice-captain.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.