Teams confirmed for Challenge Cup first round draw

Former Hull FC captain and back-to-back Ladbrokes Challenge Cup winner Gareth Ellis will be joined by England assistant coach, Paul Wellens on Tuesday December 12 (7.00pm) for the first round draw of the 2018 competition.

The draw will be conducted at MediaCity and will be live streamed on the BBC Sport website.

Forty-eight sides will go into the draw to participate in one of the country’s oldest sporting tournaments with the first round of the 2018 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup played on January 27-28.

National Conference League Premier Division champions Thatto Heath Crusaders are joined by beaten Grand Finalists Siddal, who pushed Toronto Wolfpack to their limits in round three of last year’s Challenge Cup competition.

2017 Challenge Trophy winners, Hunslet Club Parkside, feature in the competition alongside a host of fellow NCL clubs such as, Rochdale Mayfield, Normanton Knights, Myton Warriors, Kells, West Hull and Wath Brow Hornets.

The Army, Royal Air Force, Royal Navy and the Police all represent the Services, while the University of Hull are the student game’s representatives for the second year running.

Elsewhere, Wallsend Eagles, the winners of the North East Men’s League are first-time entrants, alongside London Rugby League champions, Hammersmith Hills Hoists.

Strathmore Silverbacks, champions of Scotland, are joined in the first round by Welsh League winners, Valley Cougars and Irish League winners, Longhorns. 

Full list of first round draw numbers:

1. Askham

2. Batley Boys

3. Beverley

4. Bradford Dudley Hill

5. British Army

6. British Police

7. Crosfields

8. Distington

9. Drighlington

10. East Leeds

11. Featherstone Lions

12. Hammersmith Hills Hoists

13. Hensingham

14. Hindley

15. Huddersfield Underbank

16. Hull University

17. Hunslet Club Parkside

18. Hunslet Warriors

19. Kells

20. Leigh Miners

21. Lock Lane

22. London Chargers

23. Longhorns RL

24. Loughborough

25. Milford Marlins

26. Millom

27. Myton Warriors

28. Normanton Knights

29. Northampton Demons

30. Orrell St James

31. Oulton Raiders

32. Pilkington Recs

33. Queens

34. Royal Air Force

35. Rochdale Mayfield

36. Royal Navy

37. Saddleworth Rangers

38. Shaw Cross

39. Siddal

40. Skirlaugh

41. Strathmore Silverbacks

42. Valley Cougars

43. Thatto Heath Crusaders

44. Thornhill Trojans

45. Wallsend Eagles

46. Wath Brow

47. West Hull

48. York Acorn

The first round draw for the 2017 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup will take place on Tuesday,  December 12 from 7.00pm with fixtures scheduled for January 27-28. Fans can see the draw streamed exclusively live on

Tickets for the 2018 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final at Wembley Stadium connected by EE on Saturday 25 August are on sale now. This big day out is amazing value for money with junior tickets for just £5. Not only that but book Club Wembley seats before 9 January for just £40, saving £15 with early bird prices. Visit for more information and to book.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.