Super League to cut from 14 to 12 teams

Super League will reduce in size to 12 teams from 2015.

Clubs agreed to reduce the number of teams and ditch the current licensing system in favour of a return to promotion and relegation.

It means two options are on the table – a straight forward two divisions of 12 with simple promotion and relegation between the two; and the split option, which would see the 12 team leagues split in to three play-off groups of eight after 23 games.

Super League previously operated with 12 teams from 1996 until 2008, with Salford and Celtic Crusaders joining in 2009 to increase to 14 teams.

The last team to suffer relegation from the top flight on the pitch was Salford, back in 2007.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.