Super League to adopt new points system


Super League is set to adopt the bonus point system used in the Championships from next season.

The three points for a win, two points for a draw and one point for a loss of 12 points or less system was introduced to the Championships and Northern Rail Cup in 2008.

It was brought in to try and encourage extra competitiveness in games and to encourage consistent performances across the whole 80 minutes for the entire season.

In 2009, Sheffield Eagles earned at least a point in all 20 of their Championship matches.

The RFL said: “By offering a tangible reward for strong, consistent performance over 80 minutes, the system encourages teams to keep competing in games that they may not be able to win.

“To move the scoreboard in their favour, teams will play an attacking brand of Rugby League which will increase the spectacle and entertainment at many matches throughout the season.”

Had the system been implemented for this season, the only changes to the current Super League table would see Bradford leapfrog Hull KR in to 7th place and Catalans move above Salford in to 12th.

Exactly half of the 56 games played to date this season would have seen a bonus point awarded.

Last season, Bradford would have qualified for the play-offs with the bonus point system, having lost nine of their 27 games by 12 or less. Wigan would have leapfrogged Wakefield in to fifth place while Hull would have been the main beneficiaries, earning 10 bonus points.

How the 2009 table would look: