Stephen Wild named as Salford captain


Salford have named Stephen Wild as their captain for 2012.

Wild takes over the reins from Daniel Holdsworth, who was named as successor to Malcolm Alker last year. 

Fullback Luke Patten has been named as vice captain, and will take over the captaincy when Wild is unavailable on the field.

Head coach Phil Veivers was impressed by the qualities shown by the two players, and was full praise for Holdsworth.

He said: “The coaching department have seen the captaincy and vice-captaincy coming from these two players. Both of them are leaders in their own right.

“This is no detriment to outgoing captain Daniel Holdsworth. This allows Daniel to concentrate on playing footy, without any outside influences affecting his game.”

Salford also released their squad list for the forthcoming season. 

Former New Zealand Warrior Joel Moon has been handed the number four shirt, while Matt Ashurst will play in the number 11 jersey after joining the City Reds from St Helens.

Former South Sydney second rower Shannon McPherson takes up the number 12 jersey, while newcomers Ben Gledhill and Jordan James have are named as number 20 and 21 respectively. 

Salford sqaud for 2012

1.    Luke Patten (VC)
2.    Jodie Broughton
3.    Sean Gleeson
4.    Joel Moon
5.    Danny Williams
6.    Daniel Holdsworth
7.    Matty Smith
8.    Lee Jewitt
9.    Wayne Godwin
10.    Ryan Boyle
11.    Matty Ashurst
12.    Shannon McPherson
13.    Stephen Wild (Captain)
14.    Chris Nero
15.    Adam Sidlow
16.    Luke Adamson
17.    Feka Paleaaesina
18.    Ashley Gibson
19.    Adam Neal
20.    Ben Gledhill
21.    Jordan James
22.    Marc Sneyd
23.    Gareth Owen
26.    Theo Fages
27.    Vinnie Anderson
28.    Adam Walne
29.    Jordan Walne
30.    Callum Marriot
31.    Niall Evalds
32.    George Tyson
33.    Andy Morris
34.    John Ford
35.    Jack Holmes


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.