South Africa to tour Australia

The South African national rugby league team, the Rhinos, have confirmed that they will soon be touring Australia.

They will play two international matches in Sydney, and also participate in development training with NRL outfits Manly, Canterbury and Penrith.

No South African national rugby league side has toured Australia since 1963. Back then, the Springboks, as they were called in those days, played two tests against Australia in Brisbane and Sydney.

They then travelled on to New Zealand, where they beat the host side 4-3 at Carlaw Park.

The tour party sets off on Wednesday April 22, and will return hom on May 4. They will stay at the NSWRL Institute of Sport in Narrabeen, Sydney.

“We will undoubtedly benefit from in-depth sessions with the NRL clubs,” said SARL president Kobus Botha.

“The opportunity to receive such expert coaching will aid us in our quest for 2017 Rugby League World Cup qualification.

“Two South African youth development players will join us on tour to gain valuable experience and, for the first time, the SARL has permitted the inclusion of five heritage players based in Australia to play for the Rhinos.

“We are hopeful that this tour to Australia will become an annual event.”

The Rhinos will play two games, versus Philippines on Sunday April 26 at Hammondville Oval, Moorebank (kick off 4pm), and against Niue on Saturday 2 May at Campbelltown Stadium (kick off 7pm) as part of the ANZAC international stand-alone weekend when no NRL matches will be played.

Rhinos touring squad:

Ronald Botes, Jean Coetzer, Wilhelmus De Beer, Attie Joubert, Juba Joubert, Tommie Joubert, Lee Langenhoven, Jean-Di Oosthuysen, Rudolf Prinsloo , Nardus Raubenheimer, Brandon Snell, Jaice Terblanche, Andries van der Merwe, Marcelle Viljoen, Rupert Wells, Dwayne Botma, Ruaan Du Preez, Pieter De Jager

The following Australian based players will join the squad in Australia: Brendan Frei, Shane Gillham, Halvor Harris, Gideon Mzembe, Darryn De Reuck

Management – Drikkie Mulder (Director), Brian Greige (Coach), Addie De Witt (Trainer), John Oosthuysen (Manager), Trudie Vorster (Medical)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.