Smith crowned 2017 Golden Boot winner

Image credit: NRL Photos

Cameron Smith has been awarded the international Rugby League Player of the Year for a second time.

The Australia captain last won the Golden Boot 10 years ago back in 2007 and has enjoyed a fantastic year, winning the 2017 Dally M Medal as the NRL’s best player as he led Melbourne Storm to winning the NRL Premiership.

The 34-year-old beat Tonga star Jason Taumalolo to the award while England star Jermaine McGillvary came in third place in the Rugby League International Federation Golden Boot’s voting system.

He is one of the most decorated players in the sport. He has played over 350 games for Storm while playing over 50 games for the Kangaroos as well as 42 games for Origin side Queensland.

Smith will be hoping to top off a marvellous year on Saturday when Australia take on England in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup final.

New Zealand Kiwi Ferns ace Teuila Fotu-Moala won the women’s Player of the Year gong.

Like Smith, Fotu-Moala will be competing in a Rugby League World Cup final on Saturday as New Zealand face Australia in the curtain-raiser for the men’s clash.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.