SL preview: Warrington v Leeds (Sat)

Warrington finished the regular season in strong form, with 12 wins out of their final 13 matches meaning they finished only one point behind League Leaders Huddersfield.

Head coach Tony Smith has therefore named an unchanged squad for the visit of familiar foes Leeds.

The Rhinos make only one change themselves, with Ryan Bailey returning from suspension to replace Alex Foster in Brian McDermott’s 19-man squad.

Warrington 19-man squad: Atkins, C. Bridge, Briers, Carvell, Cooper, Evans, Grix, Harrison, Higham, Hill, Hodgson, J. Monaghan, M. Monaghan, Morley, Ratchford, C. Riley, Waterhouse, Westwood, Wood.

Leeds 19-man squad: Hardaker, Jones-Bishop, Watkins, Moon, Hall, McGuire, Burrow, Leuluai, Peacock, Jones-Buchanan, Ablett, Sinfield, Delaney, Bailey, Kirke, Clarkson, Achurch, Singleton, Sutcliffe.

Previous play-off meetings:

Leeds 26, Warrington 18 (Super League Grand Final, 6/10/12)

(at Old Trafford, Manchester)

Warrington 24, Leeds 26 (SLQSF, 30/9/11)

Leeds 17, Warrington 18 (SLEPO, 22/9/06)

Super League summary:

Warrington won 13 (includes win in 2006 play-offs)

Leeds won 29 (includes win in 2012 Grand Final & 2011 play-offs)

1 draw

Warrington highest score: 44-10 (H, 2000); 44-16 (H, 2006) (Widest margin: 42-6, A, 2011)

Leeds highest score: 54-16 (H, 2006) (Widest margin: 52-10, A, 2007)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.