Sinfield and Ellis shortlisted for Golden Boot

England’s Kevin Sinfield and Gareth Ellis have been named on the six-man shortlist for the Golden Boot Award.

The other four nominees are Greg Inglis, Billy Slater and Cameron Smith of Australia, alongside New Zealand’s Fui Fui Moi Moi.

Jarryd Hayne, named as Rugby League International Federation Player of the Year, has not been shortlisted.

Sinfield of Leeds Rhinos was given the RLIF award for best loose forward and Ellis, formerly of Leeds but now of Wests Tigers in the NRL, the award for best second row.

The RLIF also named Smith as best hooker and Moi Moi as best prop.

The Golden Boot has been awarded since 1985 (albeit with a seven-year gap from 1991 to 1998) and Smith and Slater have already been recipients, in 2007 and 2008 respectively.

The final voting for this year’s award will take place after Saturday’s Gillette Four Nations final between England and Australia at Elland Road.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.