Sides ready for Conference League South kick-off

Six sides will take to the field when the newly formed Conference League South kicks-off on Saturday April 6.

Sheffield Hallam Eagles, Bristol Sonics, St Albans Centurions, Northampton Demons, Nottingham Outlaws and Leicester Storm will all be looking to claim the title come the end of the campaign in the autumn.

Sheffield, St Albans and Nottingham are the teams with home advantage on the opening weekend in a competition that the RFL’s David Butler hopes will grow in the coming years.

“There are a number of clubs that have expressed an interest in joining in future, but suggested that this year was just too early for them.”

Take Eastern Rhinos as an example – a club based in Colchester – they have declared their intent to join the league in 2014 and we’ll be supporting them and working with them to help them get ready.”

We’ve also identified a number of clubs who we think this will be applicable to, but we’ve set no dates as to when they should be entering the league. They should be allowed to grow at their own, organic pace. It’s not about putting “pins in maps”, but rather delivering a league that is shaped solely by its participants.”

The opening Premier Division fixtures in the Conference South League are:


Saturday April 6

Sheffield Hallam Eagles v Bristol Sonics
St Albans Centurions v Northampton Demons
Nottingham Outlaws v Leicester Storm

For more information on the visit

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.