Shaun Wane names England squad for France test

England coach Shaun Wane
England coach Shaun Wane


England coach Shaun Wane has named a 20-man squad for next Saturday’s international against France in Perpignan.

He is unable to call up any of England’s NRL contingent while Super League Man of Steel Sam Tomkins is unavailable due to injury.

There is a first call up for Hull KR half-back Jordan Abdull and Castleford’s Niall Evalds will battle for the full-back berth with Zak Hardaker.

Super League champions St Helens provide five players, including prop Matty Lees who played for England Knights in their win over Jamaica on Friday.

OPPOSITION: France name squad for England test

The England Knights captain that night, Danny Walker, has also been included in the absence of his Warrington team-mate Daryl Clark.

Players are ready

Wane said: “Things are always going to be fluid up to a point with form and injuries, but I’m more than happy that we have the players to get the job done.

“Every player is in on merit and they know what’s expected of them. Each one is a credit to their club, they have adapted themselves well at training and bring a very positive mindset.

“There’s no doubt it’s going to be tough. Catalans Dragons players dominate the French squad and their fans are fanatical. We’ll work hard in training this week and we’ll be raring to go come game day. The players are ready to do England proud.”

The game will be shown live on BBC1 on Saturday October 23 at 2.30pm – following on from the women’s international between England and France on BBC2 at midday.

KNIGHTS: Paul Anderson delighted with England Knights as they provide glimpse into future

England (men’s) squad: Jordan Abdull (Hull KR), Ben Currie (Warrington Wolves), Tom Davies (Catalans Dragons), Niall Evalds (Castleford Tigers), John Bateman (Wigan Warriors), Mike Cooper (Warrington Wolves), Liam Farrell, Zak Hardaker (both Wigan Warriors), Morgan Knowles (St Helens), Kruise Leeming (Leeds Rhinos), Matty Lees, Jonny Lomax (both St Helens), Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity), Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers), Tommy Makinson (St Helens), Harry Newman (Leeds Rhinos), Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds Rhinos), Joe Philbin, Danny Walker (both Warrington Wolves), Alex Walmsley (St Helens).

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.