Seven new faces in England Women’s Performance Squad

England women’s coach Craig Richards has selected a 29-player Performance Squad alongside a 10-player Knights Performance Squad for 2020.

Warrington’s Roxy Murdoch features in the EWPS for the first time alongside uncapped Leeds quartest Abigail Eatock, Natasha Gaines, Francesca Goldthorpe and Chloe Kerrigan.

St Helens’ Paige Travis and Castleford’s Lacey Owen are also included in the EWPS for the first time while Carrie Roberts – of the British Army – returns having played for England in 2015.

Richards said: “We felt it was important to name our squads despite the current circumstances to maintain some normality and to ensure the players know where they are in terms of our planning going forward.

“Even though we aren’t meeting and training as a group we have been conducting a number of webinars and online sessions throughout this difficult period which have allowed us to maintain contact and guide the squad.

“Our Athletic Performance Coach Stacey Emmonds has provided the players with training programmes to ensure they’re staying as near to peak fitness as possible despite the current limitations on training.

“Yesterday’s announcement regarding the potential scenarios for a return of the Betfred Women’s Super League included a mini pre-season of three or four weeks which is something we would look to tap into as a Performance Unit.”

England Women’s Performance Squad:

Dannielle Anderson (Leeds Rhinos)

Caitlin Beevers (Leeds Rhinos)

Leah Burke (St Helens)

Chantelle Crowl (St Helens)

Jodie Cunningham (St Helens)

Abigail Eatock (Leeds Rhinos)

Grace Field (Castleford Tigers)

Natasha Gaines (Leeds Rhinos)

Kelsey Gentles (Castleford Tigers)

Francesca Goldthorp (Leeds Rhinos)

Rebecca Greenfield (Wigan Warriors)

Amy Hardcastle (Bradford Bulls)

Shona Hoyle (Castleford Tigers)

Amy Johnson (Leeds Rhinos)

Tara Jones (St Helens)

Chloe Kerrigan (Leeds Rhinos)

Shannon Lacey (Leeds Rhinos)

Victoria Molyneux (Wigan Warriors)

Roxy Murdoch (Warrington Wolves)

Lacey Owen (Castleford Tigers)

Sinead Peach (Castleford Tigers)

Carrie Roberts (British Army)

Georgia Roche (Castleford Tigers)

Emily Rudge (St Helens)

Tara Jane Stanley (Castleford Tigers)

Rachel Thompson (Wigan Warriors)

Paige Travis (St Helens)

Naomi Williams (St Helens)

Georgia Wilson (Wigan Warriors)

England Women Knights Performance Squad:

Keara Bennett (Leeds Rhinos)

Isabel Bibby (Huddersfield Giants)

Jasmine Cudjoe (Castleford Tigers)

Hollie Mae Dodd (Castleford Tigers)

Elle Frain (Leeds Rhinos)

Tara Moxon (Wakefield Trinity)

Sophie Nuttall (Leeds Rhinos)

Ellie Oldroyd (Leeds Rhinos)

Tamzin Renouf (Castleford Tigers)

Aallisha Rhodes (Wakefield Trinity)

Watch our Last Tackle podcast, featuring a guest, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on YouTube.

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

More on site

My Set of Six: with Liam Finn featuring Andrew Johns, Headingley & reaching Wembley

Top 13 players who never won the Dally M Medal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.