Scotland suffer withdrawals

The Scotland Rugby League have confirmed that a number of players have withdrawn from their squad for the European Championship.

Their Super League contingent remains strong, however, with Danny Brough still ready to lead his troops into battle.

Craig Borthwick, Mitch Stringer, Brett Carter and Jon Molloy have all pulled out, while Ipswich Jets Queensland Cup winning prop Billy McConnanchie will be suspended for the first two games now.

McConnachie will be available for selection for the final game of the European Championship, though.

Brothers Brett and Callum Phillips, who both play for Workington, have also withdrawn from the squad.

“Having a few withdrawals through injuries, suspensions and other reasons isn’t ideal, but we are used to it happening,” said Scotland coach Steve McCormack.

“It gives younger players that have come through our pathway a great opportunity to play for Scotland.

“We still have the core of the team that has represented us outstandingly well over the last few years so they know what we are all about and how to be successful. That should rub off on the young lads coming into the squad.

“We go into camp next Tuesday in St Helens and are delighted that Thatto Heath Crusaders have again welcomed us to their club.

“To be able to use their pitches and facilities is great as they are in the perfect location for us ahead of facing Wales in Wrexham next Friday night.”


Scotland squad: Danny Addy (Bradford Bulls), Josh Barlow (Swinton Lions), Sam Barlow (Leigh Centurions), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Harvey Burnett (unattached), Lewis Clarke (Edinburgh Eagles), Sonny Esslemont (Hull KR), Dale Ferguson (Bradford Bulls), Richard Harris (Warrington Wolves), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Liam Hood (Salford Red Devils), Finlay Hutchison (Edinburgh Eagles), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Corbyn Kilday (Central Queensland Capras), Joe McLean (Gloucs All Golds), Finn Murphy (Edinburgh Eagles/St Andrews University), Scott Plumridge (Edinburgh Eagles), Craig Robertson (Edinburgh Eagles), David Scott (Doncaster), Louis Senter (Easterhouse Panthers), Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders), Oscar Thomas (London Broncos), Alex Walker (London Broncos), Johnny Walker (Leigh Centurions). Adam Walker (Hull KR).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.