Scorpions announce squad for 2010

South Wales Scorpions have announced a 23-man squad for their Championship 1 campaign that starts later this month.

They open up their debut campaign on February 28th against Workington at The Gnoll, but will host Wigan the week before in their first ever match on Sunday February 21 (kick-off 2.30pm).

The club’s highest profile signing for the new campaign is former Featherstone and Widnes full-back Loz Wildbore, who moves to the club from York City Knights.

Three players have been signed from Welsh rugby union clubs – Stephen Ireland (St Peters), Neil Dallimore and Sam Studley (both Llanharan), while six players have been signed from local Welsh Conference Premier rugby league clubs – Phil Cushion, Steve Parry, Paul Boden, Alan Pope, Shawn Owens and Christiaan Roets.

The Scorpions will also be able to use British-born Crusaders players who are not in their Super League side in any particular week.

The club’s first social night out was yesterday (Sunday) where in a unique link-up, South Wales Scorpions were official sponsors of the Elite Ice Hockey League match between Cardiff Devils and Edinburgh Capitals. The club hope it will be the first of many such link-ups with the Devils and other local sports sides.

Tickets for South Wales Scorpions v Wigan Warriors or season tickets can be bought by going to or calling 01656 863896.

FULL SCORPIONS SQUAD: Ashley Bateman (Crusaders), Paul Boden (Neath Port Talbot Steelers), Joe Burke (Crusaders), Phil Cushion (Valley Cougars – former Crusaders), Neil Dallimore (Llanharan RU), Gil Dudson (Crusaders), Andrew Gay (Toukley Hawks, Australia),  Dalton Grant (Crusaders), Harri Greville (Crusaders), Stephen Ireland (St. Peters RU, Cardiff), Garrick Legge (Crusaders), Shaun Owens (Bridgend Blue Bulls), Steve Parry (Valley Cougars), Barrie Phillips (Crusaders), Alan Pope (Dinefwr Sharks), Loren Quick (Crusaders), Lewis Reece (Crusaders), Craig Richards (Stourbridge RU), Christiaan Roets (Bridgend Blue Bulls), Sam Studley (Llanharan RU), Jamie Tibbs (Crusaders), Loz Wildbore (York City Knights), Lee Williams (Crusaders).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.