Rugby League Today: Happy Hull, latest on The Sun’s RL ban and Benji’s back

What’s on site

Hull are up to third in Super League after a superb 31-18 win at Castleford, with Albert Kelly scoring a hat-trick of tries.

Veteran half-back Benji Marshall is back in the New Zealand squad, as the Kiwis prepare to welcome Great Britain later in the year.

In the latest expansionist blog, we look at Red Star Belgrade and Serbia after Lancashire’s BARLA team visited the country for a tour.

Swinton chairman Andy Mazey is one of the guests on the latest Final Hooter podcast with Dave Parkinson and Adrian Jackson.

Widnes have signed former Wigan hooker Josh Ganson on a permanent deal until the end of the season, following a successful trial period.

What’s on social

Can’t get enough of this try…

Things aren’t going too bad for Canberra despite this…

As reported in Off the Record several weeks ago, The Sun has stopped its rugby league coverage having been prevented from reporting at the Magic Weekend at Anfield. Here’s the latest from that saga…

Enjoyed this one…

What’s in the papers

The Mirror have a feature with 17-year-old Warrington full-back Josh Thewlis, who made his debut in the win over Catalans last weekend.

Championship side Barrow have granted Jarrad Stack a period of leave, and he has returned to Australia, reports the North West Evening Mail.

Sticking with the Championship, Sheffield boss Mark Aston is looking for a leader to step out of the shadows following the injury to skipper Matty James, according to the Sheffield Star.


Modern day Warrington hero and points machine Lee Briers turns 41 today.

Also celebrating: ex-Wigan utility Andy Johnson (45); St Helens and Leigh’s former rugby union international Dom Feaunati (41); France international Mathias Pala (30); York centre Liam Salter (26).

What’s on TV/radio

7.45pm – Live Super League: Leeds v Wigan – Sky Sports Arena


Since its inception in 1996, only four clubs have won Super League – Bradford, Leeds, St Helens and Wigan. The last four clubs to be champions pre-Super League were Wigan, Widnes, Halifax and Hull KR.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.