Four legends to be inducted into Rugby League Hall of Fame

Andy Farrell Wigan Warriors Rugby League Hall of Fame SWpix
Photo: Ben Duffy/SWpix

Andy Farrell, Adrian Morley, Clive Sullivan and David Watkins will be inducted into the men’s Rugby League Hall of Fame next month.

The four will join the 28 current members in rugby league’s most exclusive club at an induction ceremony in Wigan on Thursday, October 27.

RFL chief executive Ralph Rimmer said: “On behalf of the whole sport I would like to congratulate Andy, Adrian, Clive and David on this wonderful achievement which is so richly deserved.

“Millions of people have played this great sport in the last 127 years. It is a testimony to the quality of all four players that they are among just 32 who have so far been selected for inclusion in the Rugby League Hall of Fame.

“We are looking forward to inducting these four sporting giants into the Hall of Fame next month on what will undoubtedly be a very special evening for everyone.”

The inductions will take place at a celebration dinner at The Edge Arena in Wigan on October 27. At the same event, the first members will be inducted into the newly-established Women’s Rugby League Hall of Fame – the former Great Britain internationals Benda Dobek, Lisa McIntosh and Sally Milburn.

Players are selected for entry into the Hall of Fame by a panel comprising members from across the sport, including administrators, former international players and historians.

To be considered for elevation into the Hall of Fame, players must have played professional rugby league for at least 10 years, established a reputation that transcends the era in which they played and have a record of outstanding achievement at the very highest level.

The final eligibility criteria has been changed. Players are now required to have been retired for five years since their last appearance (it had previously been 10 years).

RL Cares chairman congratulates Rugby League Hall of Fame inductees

RL Cares chairman Tim Adams said: “We would like to congratulate the four new inductees on their elevation into the Hall of Fame which is deserved recognition of their immense talent.

“Andy, Adrian, Clive and David created magical memories for millions of sports fans across the world during their illustrious careers. It is right and proper that they have been recognised in this way.”

PODCASTSuper League Dream Team special including Field, Welsby, Oledzki & more

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast

About Drew Darbyshire 8364 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.