Roby, Tomkins and Westwood up for Man of Steel

St Helens hooker James Roby, Wigan Warriors full-back Sam Tomkins and Warrington Wolves second row Ben Westwood have been shortlisted for the 2012 Man of Steel award.

The Man of Steel is the player who is deemed by his peers to have made the biggest impact on the season and has been the sport’s most prized individual accolade since its inception in 1977.

Roby, the 2007 Man of Steel and a nominee for the award 12 months ago, has been in imperious form for St Helens this season, topping the statistical charts in many areas.

Tomkins, a two-time winner of the Super League Young Player of the Year award, was also shortlisted for Man of Steel in 2011, since when he has matured into an outstanding full-back to help his club secure the League Leaders’ Shield.

Westwood, the third England player on the three-man shortlist for 2012, has earned a reputation as one of the hardest working back rows in Super League with Challenge Cup winners Warrington Wolves.

The 2012 Super League Man of Steel will be crowned at a gala dinner in Manchester on Monday October 1 when a number of other prestigious awards, including Coach of the Year and Young Player of the Year, will be presented.

The three nominees for the coveted 2012 Stobart Super League Young Player of the Year award are Bradford Bulls second row John Bateman, St Helens three-quarter Josh Jones and Leeds Rhinos full-back Zak Hardaker.

Bateman, who celebrates his 19th  birthday today (Monday) made a massive impact in his breakthrough season for the Bulls and captained England Academy on their summer tour of Australia; Jones, 19, has fitted seamlessly into a slick St Helens backline in 2012; Hardaker, 20, played in every round of Super League for Leeds this season and was a member of the Rhinos’ Wembley line-up.

The winner of the Man of Steel award is decided by a secret ballot of every player in Super League, who each cast three votes on a 5pts, 3pts and 1pt basis. The Young Player of the Year award is selected by a specially convened panel. The Coach of the Year award is selected by a secret ballot of the 14 Super League coaches.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.