RFL confirm no bonus points for 2015

The RFL have announced the points scoring system for the 2015 league restructure, with no bonus points being in place.

The system through Super League, the Championship and Championship One will be a straight two points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a defeat.

The system of awarding Championship and Championship One teams a point for losing by less than 12 points in a game is to be discontinued.

“With an exciting new league structure being introduced in 2015, it is clear that a standardised points system needs to be in place in all three division,” said RFL chief executive Nigel Wood.

“The research revealed that there is much support for both points systems with each having its own merits.

“The RFL Board takes the view that the points system familiar to the most spectators should take precedence for the 2015 season.”

The decision was taken following an intensive consulation with clubs, coaches and players.

Data used in the decision-making process was also collected from a fan survey, carried out by the International Centre for Research in Events, Tourism and Hospitality (ICRETH) at Leeds Metropolitan University.

ICRETH conducted face-to-face interviews with supporters from 10 First Utility Super League and 10 Kingstone Press Championships clubs between July 27 and August 10.

This data was collected by a team of qualified researchers who interviewed 252 spectators.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.