RFL confirm licensing announcement

The RFL has confirmed that the 13 clubs joining Widnes Vikings in Super League for the next three seasons will be announced on Tuesday July 26 at 11.00am.

Widnes were awarded a licence in March, allowing them time to make the transition from being a Co-operative Championship club to operating in Super League on a full-time, fully professional basis.  Applications from the existing 14 Engage Super League clubs were submitted in April, and along with the application from Co-operative Championship club Halifax, are currently being assessed by the RFL Executive and a number of external advisors.

Nigel Wood, the RFL’s Chief Executive, said: “The independent RFL Board will ultimately decide which of the 15 clubs will be awarded the 13 remaining licences, and their decisions will be based on the detailed and comprehensive assessment of each club’s application, a process which is very close to completion.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.