Quiz: Can you name every team to have played in Super League?

Super League balls IMG Rugby Football League

We’ve got a new quiz platform rolling out on Love Rugby League, and we’ve got a nice easy one to get you started.

There have been 24 different teams to have played in Super League since its inception in 1996.

Can you name them all?

Super League was introduced in 1996 and saw rugby league switch from a winter to a summer season.

A sizeable broadcast deal with Sky Sports of an estimated £87m helped to sweeten the deal.

Of course, it wasn’t short of controversy. The initial plans had several mergers proposed, which would have seen six merged teams play alongside six established clubs.

But the mergers were thrown out and Super League looked perhaps different to what the initial plans might have wanted.

It started with 12 clubs and has remained that way virtually ever since, with the exception of the 2009-2014 licensing era when it was a 14 team competition.

There was no relegation from 1998 to 2000, as the respective winners of the Northern Ford Premiership in those years were deemed not up to standard.

There was no relegation during the licensing era either, until two went down at the end of 2014 as the competition returned to 12 teams. The Super 8s structure followed, but only lasted for four seasons.

Can you name every team to have played in Super League?

About James Gordon 7161 Articles
Love Rugby League editor. Founded the website back in 2005. Worked with a range of clubs and sponsors during that time. Also commentates for BBC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.