Player working group announced ahead of 2021 World Cup

World Cup organisers have revealed the line up of players who will form a working group to help deliver the biggest and best tournament in 2021.

The RLWC2021 Player Working Group (PWG) and Technical Working Group (TWG) comprising of current and former players as well as officials and coaches have recently completed their first meetings.

The group will offer its expertise that all participants have a world class experience at the World Cup.

The PWG will involve Adam Cuthbertson, Amy Hardcastle, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Garreth Carvell (Rugby League Players Association – UK), Joe Brown, Joe Coyd, Kevin Naiqama, Larissa Lima, Liam Moore, Lina Caccamo (Rugby League Players Association – Australia), Mandy Marchak, Sean O’Loughlin, Stuart Williams, Corban McGregor and Tyrone McCarthy.

The TWG includes Alana Sargent, Dean Thomas, Jamahl Lolesi, Jeremy Hickmans, Martin Coyd, Julian King, Kylie Leuluai, Dr Nick Raynor, Steve McCormack, and Jo Richards and Laurence Shenker from British Wheelchair Basketball.

These panels will provide input into the key technical considerations to stage the tournament as well as drafts of relevant RLWC policies including the RLWC2021 diversity and inclusion action plan.

Ireland international Tyrone McCarthy said: “It is a privilege to be involved with the RLWC2021 Player Working Group, it demonstrates that the organisers are leaving no stone unturned in preparation to deliver the greatest World Cup yet.

“It’s fantastic for players to be given a voice as we can give a unique insight to the organisers about all aspects of the tournament, from where things could be improved but also components that worked really well previously. This feedback will hopefully help create an enhanced experience for all involved including our volunteers and spectators.”

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.