Peacock favourite for Man of Steel

England captain Jamie Peacock has been installed as 8-1 favourite to win the coveted Engage Super League Man of Steel crown in 2010.

The Leeds Rhinos prop is priced at 8-1 by William Hill, the RFL’s official betting partner, to become the player who makes the biggest impact on the new Engage Super League season, which kicks off in earnest this weekend.

Peacock, who was crowned Super League Man of Steel in 2003 after leading Bradford Bulls to Grand Final glory, has been a key figure in the Rhinos’ unprecedented hat-trick of Grand Final victories in 2007, 2008 and 2009.

The 32-year-old’s biggest rivals for the honour this year are his two England front row colleagues Adrian Morley of Warrington Wolves and St Helens prop James Graham, who are both rated as 10-1.

Last season’s Engage Super League Man of Steel winner Brett Hodgson, the Huddersfield Giants captain, is 12-1 to become the first player to retain the honour in successive seasons since Paul Sculthorpe achieved the feat in 2001 and 2002.

Bradford Bulls’ new signing Matt Orford, the Australian scrum-half who captained Manly Sea Eagles to their World Club Challenge victory over Leeds last year, is also priced at 12-1 along with St Helens hooker Keiron Cunningham.

William Hill are also offering short odds on some of the bright young stars of Engage Super League eclipsing their senior colleagues to become Man of Steel in 2010.

Kyle Eastmond, the 20-year-old St Helens scrum-half, is just 16-1 to be this year’s Man of Steel while 20-year-old Wigan Warriors half-back Sam Tomkins is 20-1.

Leading 2010 Engage Super League Man of Steel odds:
Jamie Peacock (Leeds) 8/1
James Graham (St Helens) 10/1
Adrian Morley (Warrington) 10/1
Matt Orford (Bradford) 12/1
Brett Hodgson (Huddersfield) 12/1
Keiron Cunningham (St Helens) 12/1
Kevin Sinfield (Leeds) 14/1
Kyle Eastmond (Leeds) 16/1
James Roby (St Helens) 20/1
Danny Brough (Wakefield) 20/1
Sean Long (Hull FC) 20/1
Danny Buderus (Leeds) 20/1
Sam Tomkins (Wigan) 20/1
Michael Monaghan (Warrington) 20/1
Rob Burrow (Leeds) 20/1
Paul Wellens (St Helens) 25/1
Steve Menzies (Bradford) 25/1
Michael Dobson (Hull KR) 33/1
Greg Eastwood (Leeds) 33/1
Shaun Berrigan (Hull FC) 33/1
Brett Kearney (Bradford) 33/1
Eorl Crabtree (Huddersfield) 40/1
Matt King (Warrington) 40/1
Keith Senior (Leeds) 40/1
Mark O’Meley (Hull FC) 40/1
Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan) 40/1
Thomas Bosc (Catalans) 40/1
Richie Myler (Warrington) 40/1
David Solomona (Warrington) 50/1
Brent Webb (Leeds) 50/1
Clint Greenshields (Catalans) 50/1
Rangi Chase (Castleford) 50/1
Brent Sherwin (Castleford) 50/1
Adam Mogg (Catalans) 50/1
Heath L’Estrange (Bradford) 50/1
Chad Randall (Harlequins) 50/1
Shaun Briscoe (Hull KR) 50/1
Pat Richards (Wigan) 50/1
Tony Puletua (St Helens) 50/1
Andy Lynch (Bradford) 66/1 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.