Origin squads announced

South Sydney utility Chris McQueen and Roosters playmaker James Maloney are among the surprise selections for game one of this year’s Origin series.

McQueen has been named on the interchange bench for Queensland while Maloney starts at five-eighth for NSW after a stellar start to the NRL season.

Manly’s Daly Cherry-Evans also makes it on to the Maroons bench as cover for Cooper Cronk, who starts at halfback for the clash at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday June 5.

Darius Boyd has been named on the wing for the wing for the Maroons but may have to pull out after suffering an ankle injury in Newcastle’s defeat to the Warriors in Auckland on Sunday.

Kurt Gidley, who has been named on the bench for the Blues, has been ruled out of the game with a foot injury.

His replacement is due to be announced soon,




1. Billy Slater (Storm)

2. Darius Boyd (Knights)

3. Greg Inglis (Rabbitohs)

4. Justin Hodges (Broncos)

5. Brent Tate (Cowboys)

6. Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys)

7. Cooper Cronk (Storm)

8. Matt Scott (Cowboys)

9. Cameron Smith (c) (Storm)

10. David Shillington (Raiders)

11. Nate Myles (Titans)

12. Sam Thaiday (Broncos)

13. Ashley Harrison (Titans)

14. Corey Parker (Broncos)

15. Matt Gillett (Broncos)

16. Ben Te’o (Rabbitohs)

17. Chris McQueen (Rabbitohs)

18. Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles)

19. Josh Papalii (Raiders)


New South Wales


1. Jarryd Hayne (Eels)

2. Brett Morris (Dragons)

3. Michael Jennings (Roosters)

4. Josh Morris (Bulldogs)

5. Blake Ferguson (Raiders)

6. James Maloney (Roosters)

7. Mitchell Pearce (Roosters)

8. Paul Gallen (Sharks, capt)

9. Robbie Farah (Tigers)

10. James Tamou (Cowboys)

11. Ryan Hoffman (Storm)

12. Luke Lewis (Sharks)

13. Greg Bird (Titans)

14. Kurt Gidley (Knights)

15. Anthony Watmough (Manly)

16. Andrew Fifita (Sharks)

17. Trent Merrin (Dragons)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.