Oldham release Fiji international as they confirm 2023 squad numbers

James Gordon
Joe Taira SWpix Oldham 2023 squad numbers Challenge Cup

Oldham have released forward Joe Taira, who featured for Fiji in their World Cup warm up match against England in the autumn.

Taira, 33, was announced by the Roughyeds on Christmas Day but has left the club by mutual consent.

Coach Stuart Littler said: “He’s tried his best, but he’s got an injury which is also affecting his work away from rugby.

“The lads all have jobs outside of rugby and if something starts affecting your ability to work and provide for your family, then decisions have to be made.

“Joe has come to us with the decision and we understand it. He has our support, best wishes and our thanks for the time and effort he has put into the club.”

Joe Taira made more than 100 appearances for Rochdale and also had a stint with Batley, playing 20 games in the Championship.

The announcement comes as he was left out of the release of Oldham 2023 squad numbers.

Oldham are preparing for a second successive season in the same division for the first time since 2017.

They boast experience in their back line, with former Leigh duo Gregg McNally and Martyn Ridyard at one and six, while ex-Widnes and Bradford winger Patrick Ah Van wears number two.

Eight of the club’s new signings are included in Littler’s first 17 squad numbers, while Kian Morgan is rewarded for scooping the club’s Young Player of the Year award by being named at number four.

Connor Carr, who signed for Oldham on a season-long loan from Huddersfield earlier this week, wears three.

Oldham beat local rivals Rochdale 18-14 in the Law Cup at the end of January, and also provided Championship side Widnes with a test in pre-season, eventually going down 42-20 to the Vikings.

Oldham 2023 squad numbers:

1. Gregg McNally

2. Patrick Ah Van

3. Connor Carr

4. Kian Morgan

5. Joe Hartley

6. Martyn Ridyard

7. Lewis Sheridan

8. Luke Nelmes

9. Matty Wilkinson

10. Deane Meadows

11. Ethan Ferry

12. Zac Baker

13. Emmerson Whittel

14. Sean Slater

15. Dom Newton

16. James Thornton

17. Jack Blagbrough

18. Jordan Paga

19. Callum Cameron

20. Tommy Brierley

21. Sam Bardsley

22. Calvin Wellington

23.Billy Yarrow

24. Ellis Keppel

25. George Hirst

26. Jenson Hamilton

READ NEXT: Edinburgh Eagles: The Scottish team with League 1 ambitions