Oldham 2020 squad numbers: Three new signings get starting numbers

Four of Oldham’s five new signings are included in their first 17 squad numbers.

Head coach Matt Diskin is guarded about their significance, but he makes the point that squad numbers have had to be earned and must now be retained on merit.

His first 13 includes Dan Abram at 1, James Worthington at 3 and Lewis Charnock at 6 — an indication, perhaps, of where Diskin anticipates these three new boys initially making their marks.

Jode Sheriffe, a fourth new boy, will wear 16 with John Hutchings, the fifth newcomer, at 19.

Three players who were at the Vestacare Stadium on loan last season are now fully-fledged Roughyeds on one-year contracts – namely Declan Kay (2), Adam Brook (18) and Harry Aaronson (20).

Diskin said: “You can’t read too much into the numbers, but I have to say they’ve got them because they deserve them, based either on what they did last season or what they’ve done in pre-season training.

“They know, though, that they have to work hard week in and week out to keep hold of the positions that the numbers represent.”

Diskin is expected to take his full 20-man squad to Barrow for Sunday’s opening pre-season game,which kicks off at 2pm.

Roughyeds are still looking to bolster their ranks in time for the start of the Championship season, with the front-row a priority.

The full squad is numbered like this:

1. Dan Abram

2. Declan Kay

3. James Worthington

4. Cameron Leeming

5. Kyran Johnson

6. Lewis Charnock

7. Dave Hewitt

8. Phil Joy

9. Gareth Owen (capt)

10. Jack Spencer

11. Danny Langtree

12. Danny Bridge

13. Liam Bent

14. Matty Wilkinson

15. Ben Davies

16. Jode Sheriffe

17. Ed Smith

18. Adam Brook

19. John Hutchings

20. Harry Aaronson

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.