Odds for Grand Final Harry Sunderland Trophy winner

Super League Harry Sunderland Trophy Jack Welsby

St Helens duo Jack Welsby and Jonny Lomax are the bookies’ joint-favourites to win the Harry Sunderland Trophy during this Saturday’s Super League Grand Final.

After winning his second appeal and becoming available for the clash, Morgan Knowles is joint-third favourite at 10/1. 

Welsby, 21, is priced at 5/1 alongside team-mate Lomax, who has the same odds.

Veteran hooker and former England international James Roby is 7/1, the second favourite, with St Helens dominating the favourites list.

Leeds’ Blake Austin is priced at 10/1 and has the best odds for a Rhinos player. He is joined alongside Knowles and Tommy Makinson at that price.

Meanwhile, semi-final two-try-scorer Joe Batchelor is priced at 12/1 alongside Jon Bennison, Richie Myler and Will Hopoate.

Ireland international and Leeds back-rower James Bentley, who crossed twice against Wigan, is priced at 16/1. 

Returning goal-kicker Rhyse Martin, who has served his two-match ban, is also priced at 16/1.

List of Harry Sunderland Trophy winners

Kevin Naiqama won the award last season in his final match for St Helens as his side defeated Catalans Dragons 12-10 at the Theatre of Dreams.

A St Helens player has won the award on the last three occasions, having also lifted the Super League Grand Final trophy. James Roby won it in 2020 and Luke Thompson the year prior.

  • 1998 – Jason Robinson (Wigan)
  • 1999 – Henry Paul (Bradford)
  • 2000 – Chris Joynt (St Helens)
  • 2001 – Michael Withers (Bradford)
  • 2002 – Paul Deacon (Bradford)
  • 2003 – Stuart Reardon (Bradford)
  • 2004 – Matt Diskin (Leeds)
  • 2005 – Leon Pryce (Bradford)
  • 2006 – Paul Wellens (St Helens)
  • 2007 – Rob Burrow (Leeds)
  • 2008 – Lee Smith (Leeds)
  • 2009 – Kevin Sinfield (Leeds)
  • 2010 – Thomas Leuluai (Wigan)
  • 2011 – Rob Burrow (Leeds)
  • 2012 – Kevin Sinfield (Leeds)
  • 2013 – Blake Green (Wigan)
  • 2014 – James Roby (St Helens)
  • 2015 – Danny McGuire (Leeds)
  • 2016 – Liam Farrell (Wigan)
  • 2017 – Danny McGuire (Leeds)
  • 2018 – Stefan Ratchford (Warrington)
  • 2019 – Luke Thompson (St Helens)
  • 2020 – James Roby (St Helens)
  • 2021 – Kevin Naiqama (St Helens)

PODCAST: Adam Cuthbertson on time at Leeds, Rhinos’ resurgence & Wayne Bennett’s influence

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast

About Josh McAllister 1909 Articles
Journalist. Joined the Love Rugby League team full time at the start of 2022 having been a freelance reporter for several years. Previously media manager for Swinton and Rochdale.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.