NRL to bring back Nines tournament in 2020

The NRL have confirmed the Nines will return next year, with Perth’s HBF Park to be the host venue.

The decision to bring back the Nines comes on the back of the World Cup Nines taking place at the weekend. The NRL Nines will take place in Perth on February 14-15.

The NRL Nines, which was formerly held in Auckland, started in 2014 but stopped in 2018 after player welfare concerns following the 2017 World Cup.

All 16 NRL clubs and four NRLW sides will compete in the revamped concept. The men’s competition will feature four pools, while the women will play a round-robin.

To encourage teams to field their best players, $1million will be awarded to any club that wins the Nines and NRL Premiership.

Sydney Roosters were the most recent NRL Nines champions, while Parramatta Eels, South Sydney Rabbitohs and North Queensland Cowboys have also lifted the trophy.

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how the Burgess boys, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, James Graham and all the others are getting on Down Under.

More on site

Great Britain squad forced to evacuate hotel due to huge fire

Captain Jason Baitieri walks out on France national team

Lama Tasi returns to Australia

Wakefield bring in Josh Wood from Salford

New York contract for Will Jubb

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.