NRL sensation named in Nigeria squad

Canterbury Bulldogs star Jayden Okunbor has been named in the Nigeria squad to take part in the Middle East Africa Championship this October.

Hosts Nigeria have opted for a 60-man squad initially, including NRL winger Okunbor and Leeds prop Muizz Mustapha.

Hull KR youngster Elliott Wallis, Castleford centre Tuoyo Egodo and London forward Sadiq Adebiyi have been included.

Championship stars Rob Worrincy, Will Sharp and Daniel Igbinedion are also included. They join local players who are part of Nigeria’s eight-team domestic competition.

The other countries to take part in the Middle East Africa Championship are Cameroon, Ghana and Morocco.

The tournament will be held at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos, Nigeria from October 2-5.

Nigeria squad: 

Alamin Ajelara (Africa United Australia)

Azeez Ajelara (Africa United Australia)

Benjamin Jegede (Africa United Australia)

Jordan Adebumowa (Africa United Australia)

Mathew Jegede (Africa United Australia)

Michael Worrincy (Africa United Australia)

Jayden Okunbor (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Tuoyo Egodo (Castleford Tigers)

Daniel Igbinedion (Dewsbury Rams)

Robert Worrincy (Dewsbury Rams)

Hsa Harrison (Eko Trinity)

Nosakhare Agwoje (Eko Trinity)

Oladele Abiodun (Eko Trinity)

Emmanuel Ayewe (Eko Trinity)

Eneji Michael Iyeshi (Eko Trinity)

Francis Olatunbosun (Eko Trinity)

Shittu Isiaka (Eko Trinity)

Will Sharp (Halifax RLFC)

Elliot Wallis (Hull Kingston Rovers)

Jude Abrakson (Kano Gazelles)

Alex Richard (Kano Gazelles)

Issa Omale (Kano Gazelles)

Obi Wilson (Kano Gazelles)

Gabriel John (Kano Gazelles)

Joshua Etim (Kano Gazelles)

Samuel Akpabio (Kano Lions)

Christian Williams (Kano Lions)

Sani Mohammed (Kano Lions)

Ibrahim Suraju (Kano Lions)

Nuhu Ibrahim (Kano Lions)

Bashir Usman (Kano Lions)

Prince Nwauzor (Lagos Broncos)

Kelechi Anozie (Lagos Broncos)

Shedrack Kalu (Lagos Broncos)

Sukirudeen Alameen (Lagos Broncos)

Buni Mba (Lagos Broncos)

Sodiq Sakariyau (Lagos Broncos)

Emmanuel Peter (Lagos Broncos)

Michael Clement (Lagos Broncos)

Izuchukwu Nwaire (Lagos Broncos)

Monday Samali (Lagos Broncos)

Jeremiah Peters (Lagos Haven)

Azuka Kelvin (Lagos Haven)

Stephen Kiki (Lagos Haven)

Olisa Kelvin (Lagos Haven)

John Precious (Lagos Haven)

Eric Olualogbo (Lagos Haven)

Daniel John (Lagos Haven)

Prince Samuel (Lagos Haven)

Ayo Johnson (Lagos Haven)

Quadri Kareem (Lagos Haven)

Mark Macaulay (Lagos Haven)

Muizz Mustapha (Leeds Rhinos)

Sadiq Adebiyi (London Broncos)

Jubril Olajide (Manchester Rangers)

Isah Lawal Saulawa (Northants Uni)

Matthew Komolafe (Parramatta Eels)

Godson Sado (St Albans)

Boluaji Fagborun (Unattached)

Cameroon squad:

Diryl Tchinda (Bandjoun Rl Douala)

Armel Damdja (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Bidjana Jean Claude (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Nguele Hermand (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Hamadou Moussa (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Patrick Eugene Nkouak (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Nanga Yannick Olama (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Tsoungui Alphonse Olama (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Lamere Mfochive Oudi (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Yannick Noah Simon (Bulls Rl Yaoundé)

Tientcheu Nguekam Emmanuel (Gorila Rl Douala)

Moutcheu Jangue Raphael (Gorila Rl Douala)

Yohan C. Kwedi (Gorila Rl Douala)

Kallasi Nguiagueu Arnaud (Guepard Rl Douala)

Meli Arnaud Cyrille (Guepard Rl Douala)

Embella Mouhamed (Guepard Rl Douala)

Christian T. Pegou (Guepard Rl Douala)

Eyong Arno Bienvenue (Panda Rl Youndé)

Bekolo Elie (Panda Rl Youndé)

Watio Franck (Panda Rl Youndé)

Fabrice Yepmo Joufang (Panda Rl Youndé)

Fosso Ledoux (Panda Rl Youndé)

Arnaud Ndjeng (Panda Rl Youndé)

Chieyem Prince (Panda Rl Youndé)

Ndifor Paul Atungsiri (Rock Rl Douala)

Akoa Akoa Jean Marc (Rock Rl Douala)

Ngoufack Geordane (Rock Rl Douala)

Kuate Talom Steve (Rock Rl Douala)

Aliou Garga (Sahel Rl Garoua)

Malai Alban (Sahel Rl Garoua)

Ghana squad: 

Marcus Alexander Amate Neil (Brixton Bulls)

Albert Abeku Amonoo Nelson (Brixton Bulls)

Benjamin Anane (Bulls RLFC)

Kwabena Afful Cleland (Bulls RLFC)

Collins Kweku Ofosu (Bulls RLFC)

Desmond Atsu Geotrah (Bulls RLFC)

Nigel Nii Ampim Sackey (Bulls RLFC)

On Yelib Oliver Puman (Bulls RLFC)

Reece Connor Rance (Coventy Bears)

Isaac Akwasi Akuoko  (Manly Sea Eagles)

Samuel A. Aboagye Sarpong (Panthers RLFC)

Darryl Amoatey (Panthers RLFC)

Nasiru Abdul Latif (Panthers RLFC)

Eric Tettegah (Panthers RLFC)

Calivinson Accorlor (Pirates RLFC)

Philip Asomani (Pirates RLFC)

John Bless Mensah (Pirates RLFC)

Enoch Abam Niikoi (Pirates RLFC)

Christian Fafa Okpattah (Pirates RLFC)

Alibah Riddick Nana Abrokwa (Skolars RLFC)

Richard Amevor (Skolars RLFC)

Isaac Jordan Annan (Skolars RLFC)

Elikem Koesi Asafo (Skolars RLFC)

Edward Danquah Donkor (Skolars RLFC)

Chris Da Gama (Skolars RLFC)

Michael Quatey (Skolars RLFC)

William Pearce Biney (Skolars RLFC)

Kwabena Afful Cleland (Unattached)

Morocco squad:

Souhail Ait Alla (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Mouslim Ali (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Boujoua Ayoub (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Ahmed El Faiz (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Brahim Aferhane (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Ouhcham Mahdi (Association Marocaine Assalam Rugby XIII)

Mohssin Afouks (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Zakaria Attarch (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Khalid Azghikh (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Moussa Bencharki (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Ismail Edhouz (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Raid El Fath (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Mbark Hani (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Yassin Oujbor (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Marouane Mounwir (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Chnikhl Youssef (Association Black Eagles Rugby XIII)

Ilias El Fezazi (Racing Club Baho XIII)

Iliass Laachiri (Lyon Villeurbanne Rugby XIII)

Amine Addaqqouni (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Oussama El Abdioui (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Amine Belaachj (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Aissa El Hamdaoui (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Soufiane Kissi (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Ali Sambo (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Bilal Zariouh (Nadour Arkmane Rugby XIII)

Naji Anas (Racing Club De Carpentras Du Comtat XIII)

Ismail Edhouz (South Lionsrugby XIII)

Taleb Idriss (South Lionsrugby XIII)

Jarif Lachen (South Lionsrugby XIII)

Marouanne Mounwir (South Lionsrugby XIII)

Yassin Oujbor (South Lionsrugby XIII)

Badreddine Medkouri (Sporting Treiziste Toulonnais)

Adam Ed Diche (Union Sportive Ferralaise XIII)

More on site

Jarrod Sammut to represent Malta this autumn

Team news: Wigan v Castleford (Thurs)

Kristian Woolf appointed new St Helens coach

Quiz: Can you name the last Great Britain squad from 2007?

Salford insist they “will not tolerate” flare throwers

About Drew Darbyshire 7862 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.