North East Origin set to light up Kingston Park

Rugby league supporters in the North East are in for a treat this Saturday, November 7, when the region’s best players will go head-to-head in the first North East Origin Match.

South of the Tyne faces North of the Tyne in the clash, which kicks off at 11.45am to allow spectators to enjoy the England v New Zealand Test on big screens afterwards.

Spectators enter through Kingston Park’s Tap and Tackle bar, for free, and can also enjoy free curry while they watch.

“It’s a big opportunity to claim the bragging rights for the North East” said North of Tyne coach, Jordan Robinson.

“The talent in both squads is impressive and it promises to be an exciting match. We have wanted to do an Origin match for years so to finally be holding it is a big success for everyone in North East rugby league.

“Both squads trained at Kingston Park during the week and looked sharp. There are a number of players who have played national league or for their country at a junior level in both sides and no one will be taking a step back come kick off.”

North East Origin, Kick off 11:45am at Kingston Park.

Squads (community club in brackets):

Players are chosen based on their first community club.

North of the Tyne consists of players from Wallsend Eagles, Cramlington (previously Killingworth) Rockets and Whitley Bay Barbarians.

The South of Tyne squad consists from Gateshead Storm, Jarrow Vikings, Gateshead Thunder, Gateshead Panthers, Durham Tigers and Peterlee Pumas.

(colours – black and white)

Aiden Orritt (Cramlington Rockets)
Alex Taylor (Wallsend Eagles)
Ben Dalton (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Ben Smith (Wallsend Eagles)
Chris McCabe (Wallsend Eagles)
Chris Prior (Wallsend Eagles)
Christopher David (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Connor Lye (Killingworth Rockets)
Craig Banks (Wallsend Eagles)
Gavin Duffy (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Jack Tait (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Jamie Dowd (Cramlington Rockets)
Joey Bell (Cramlington Rockets)
Kyle Wharton (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Liam Blackburn (Wallsend Eagles)
Mark Hall (Whitley Bay Barbarians)
Matthew Hyatt (Cramlington Rockets)
Matty Gordon (Cramlington Rockets)
Michael Mitchell (Killingworth Rockets)
Rhys Allison (Wallsend Eagles)
Scott Rendles (Wallsend Eagles)
Stephen Welton (Wallsend Eagles)

Jordan Robinson (Killingworth Rockets)
Graeme Neighbour (Wallsend Eagles)

(colours – purple and magenta)

Adam Houston (Gateshead Panthers)
Andy Gray (Jarrow Vikings)
Andy Morris (Gateshead Thunder)
Anthony Veitch (Gateshead Panthers)
Charlie Leask (Gateshead Storm)
Chris Burnett (Gateshead Storm)
Conor Young (Gateshead Panthers)
Dan Barron (Gateshead Storm)
Dan Mole (Gateshead Thunder)
David Norman (Durham Tigers)
Derek Worthington (Jarrow Vikings)
Gregg Newland (Jarrow Vikings)
Jack Adamson (Peterlee Pumas)
Jack Munro (Gateshead Storm)
John Malcolm (Peterlee Pumas)
Jordan Wright (Jarrow Vikings)
Phillip Wall (Jarrow Vikings)
Paul Doddsworth (Durham Tigers)
Ruri Cuthbertson (Jarrow Vikings)
Reece Young (Gateshead Panthers)
Sean Swallow (Peterlee Pumas)
Steven Lockney (Jarrow Vikings)

Karl Stephenson (Durham Demons)
George Taylor (Jarrow Vikings)
Jason Grant (Catterick Crusaders)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.