Noble Names GB Squad

Great Britain coach Brian Noble has named his 25 man squad for this winter's Tri Nations competition in Australia.

There is no place in the main squad for Lee Briers, although the Warrington stand off is in the stand by squad. There is still room in the 25 for 6 uncapped players – Huddersfield's Martin Aspinwall, James Roby and Jon Wilkin of St Helens and Hull's Kirk Yeaman and Garreth Carvell.

With the injured Paul Sculthorpe missing, Jamie Peacock will again take over the captaining duties, something which he was delighted to do.

"Captaining your country is the biggest buzz ever, it's the proudest moment you can have and to go down there and do it will be a really good feeling," said Peacock.

"I think it's a great squad. There is quite a lot of experience but some great young players in there as well."

With former main stays of the side Iestyn Harris and Keiron Cunningham opting out of inclusion for the competition, which will be held in Australia for the first time, Brian Noble had several options in the stand off and hooker positions. There had been widespread calls for the inclusion of Briers after his heroics against Leeds Rhinos last Friday, but Danny McGuire, Richard Horne and Leon Pryce have been chosen to fight for the number 6 shirt instead.

The pack includes St Helens youngster James Graham, who has impressed greatly this season, along with Stuart Fielden and Warrington-bound Adrian Morley.

Joining Briers in the stand by squad is Salford duo Andy Coley and David Hodgson, as well as Paul Wood and Stuart Reardon of Warrington, Hull's Paul Cooke and Lee Radford, Andy Lynch of Bradford and Huddersfield centre Stephen Wild.

GB squad for Tri-Nations:

Backs: Paul Wellens (St Helens), Martin Aspinwall (Huddersfield), Brian Carney (Newcastle Knights), Gareth Raynor (Hull), Martin Gleeson (Warrington), Keith Senior (Leeds), Kirk Yeaman (Hull), Danny McGuire (Leeds), Richard Horne (Hull), Leon Pryce (St Helens), Rob Burrow (Leeds), Sean Long (St Helens), James Roby (St Helens).
Forwards: Garreth Carvell (Hull), Stuart Fielden (Bradford), James Graham (St Helens), Paul Johnson (Bradford), Adrian Morley (Sydney Roosters), Terry Newton (Bradford), Gareth Ellis (Leeds), Lee Gilmour (St Helens), Gareth Hock (Wigan), Jamie Peacock (Leeds – capt), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan), Jon Wilkin (St Helens).

Stand-by squad: Lee Briers (Warrington), Andy Coley (Salford), Paul Cooke (Hull), Micky Higham (Wigan), David Hodgson (Salford), Lee Radford (Hull), Andy Lynch (Bradford), Paul Wood (Warrington), Stuart Reardon (Warrington), Stephen Wild (Huddersfield).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.