National League Clubs Learn Super League Fate

Widnes, Hull KR and Leigh will be allowed to enter Super League if they win the National League Grand Final.

The trio, currently occupying the top 3 places in National League 1, have all met standards set out by the RFL, based on stadium facilities, finances and business operations.

However, 4th placed Whitehaven saw their submission refused, and they will not be allowed to enter Super League should they win the Grand Final, which takes place in October at Warrington's Halliwell Jones Stadium.

Haven's stadium facilities and business documentation don't meet the required standards, according to the Rugby Football League.

"This assessment of National League One clubs is an important element of the sport's collective desire to ensure that the appropriate high standards are maintained by any new member clubs," said RFL Chief Operating Officer Nigel Wood.

"We believe the process has been both fair and helpful to all clubs involved in highlighting areas within their organisations for further development."

But Whitehaven chairman Des Byrne has insisted the club would attempt to overthrow the RFL decision if they were to win the National League Grand Final.

Byrne said plans were advanced for a complete redevelopment of the club's Recreation Ground and that initial work to bring the stadium up to standard would be completed by June next year.

"In the event of us winning the Grand Final, we would have to sit down with the Rugby League and talk to them about their decision," said Byrne. "We have said we want to keep all avenues open."

Whitehaven had been given the go-ahead to temporarily groundshare at Carlisle's Brunton Park if they had beaten Castleford in last season's play-off decider.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.