MPs push for Halifax Super League inclusion

The RFL is being pressured into allowing Halifax RLFC into Super League by nine MPs who believe the club should be playing in rugby league’s elite.

Linda Riordan, who is of the Halifax constituency, has the support of Lindsay Hoyle (Chorley), Lyn Brown (West Ham), Jeff Ennis (Barnsley East and Mexborough), Alan Simpson (Nottingham), Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North), John McDonnell (Hayes and Harlington), John Battle (Leeds West) and Hugh Bayley (York), who have put forward a Commons motion to allow the club into Super League for the 2010 season.

The Early Day Motion 1387 put forward by the MPs asks: “That this House recognises the success currently being enjoyed by Halifax Rugby League Football Club that is top of the Co-operative Championship League with a 100 per cent winning run.”

It also asks for the House to: “Pay tribute to the players and coaching staff for the high quality performances and give equal credit to the excellent and loyal supporters who back the team.

“[The House should] further recognise that Halifax has a long and proud history in Rugby League as former Challenge Cup winners, Yorkshire Cup winners and League One champions and believe that Halifax Rugby League Football Club should once again be promoted to the Super League with both a stadium and team fit for purpose and urges the Rugby Football League to review its current three year franchise policy with a view to allowing Halifax to enter the Super League for the beginning of the 2010 season.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.