Effort, pride & passion: Morgan Smithies on wearing Wigan’s number 13

Morgan Smithies Wigan Warriors

Wigan forward Morgan Smithies described receiving the club’s iconic number 13 jersey as a dream come true, insisting he will give his all in 2023.

The 22-year-old will wear the 13 shirt for the Warriors next season, taking over from John Bateman, who has left the club to join NRL side Wests Tigers on a four-year deal.

Halifax-born Smithies came through Wigan’s academy and has already made 83 first team appearances.

Smithies tweeted: “Big thanks for all the messages I’ve received for getting the 13 shirt!

“Can’t put it into words how much it means to me and my family, as it’s been a goal of mine ever since signing at Wigan in the scholarship.

“I know what comes with the shirt with the legends who’ve been before me, and you’ll get nothing but effort, pride and passion from me. See you all in 2023.”

Wigan’s 2023 squad numbers: Morgan Smithies to wear 13

The club confirmed their 2023 squad numbers on Tuesday, December 27. Harry Smith takes the number seven shirt from Tommy Leuluai, who retired at the end of last season.

There are also two new changes in the centres with Toby King and Jake Wardle receiving shirt numbers three and four respectively. Iain Thornley has been given shirt number 21.

Jai Field takes the number one shirt for the first time, with Bevan French moved to number two following his new two-year deal.

Patrick Mago will wear shirt number 20 in 2023, with Ireland prop Liam Byrne handed the number 10.

Wigan’s 2023 squad numbers in full:

1. Jai Field

2. Bevan French

3. Toby King

4. Jake Wardle

5. Liam Marshall

6. Cade Cust

7. Harry Smith

8. Brad Singleton

9. Sam Powell

10. Liam Byrne

11. Willie Isa

12. Liam Farrell

13. Morgan Smithies

14. Mike Cooper

15. Kaide Ellis

16. Ethan Havard

17. Kai Pearce-Paul

18. Warriors fans

19. Joe Shorrocks

20. Patrick Mago

21. Iain Thornley

22. Brad O’Neill

23. Abbas Miski

24. Logan Astley

25. Alex Sutton

26. Harvie Hill

27. Junior Nsemba

28. Zach Eckersley

29. Tom Forber

30. Ramon Silva

More Wigan content

Wests Tigers confirm signing of John Bateman

2023 rugby league kits including every Super League club

List of 2023 rugby league pre-season friendlies

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast

About Drew Darbyshire 8652 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.