Morgan Escare drafted in to France team for England test

Salford full-back Morgan Escare has been brought in to the France team to face England in Perpignan on Saturday.

Escare, 29, replaces Ilias Bergal, who has suffered a hamstring injury, and will win his 12th cap.

Bergal joins an injury list that already includes Catalans tro Ben Garcia, Julian Bousquet, Alrix Da Costa.

Super League winner Theo Fages is still sidelined, as are London back-rower Rhys Curran, Lucas Albert and Remi Casty, who has retired.

The team will be captained by Toulouse’s Tony Gigot.

France coach Laurent Frayssinous said: “This group combines experience and youth with 10 players in this group, who are likely to celebrate their first selection in blue.

“This test match against England is the start of our new planning for the 2022 World Cup and I am confident that we ‘can give the English a change’.”

REGULAR: England winger Tom Davies would like to see regular tests against France

England make a change

Meanwhile, England have drafted in young Warrington centre Connor Wrench after Harry Newman aggravated a leg injury in training.

Wrench, 21, scored a try in England Knights’ 56-4 win over Jamaica last week and joins Knights captain Danny Walker in the full squad.

Newman hadn’t been named in Shaun Wane’s 17-man starting squad for Saturday.

Wane said: “Some of them haven’t featured in an England set up before and I’m really excited for them. Representing your country is a dream and I’m looking forward to seeing what they can do in an England shirt.”

The game kicks off at 2.30pm and will be broadcast live on BBC1.

Prior to the men’s game, France take on England in the first women’s international to be broadcast on BBC – midday on BBC2.

HISTORY: England women squad named for historic clash live on BBC

France team v England: Kheirallah, Escare, Laguerre, Jussaume, Yaha, Mourgue, Gigot, Navarrete, Marion, Dezaria, Julien, Seguier, Goudemand. Subs (from): Pelissier, Puech, Sangare, Le Cam, Cozza, Rouge.

England team v France: Evalds, Davies, Lyne, Hardaker, Makinson, Lomax, Abdull, Walmsley, McShane, Cooper, Bateman, Farrell, Knowles. Subs: Currie, Leeming, Oledzki, Philbin.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.