Man of Steel to be decided by new panel

This year’s Super League Man of Steel will be decided by a newly appointed five-man panel.

Up until 2011, the award was decided by the media, but since then it has been solely based on a poll of every Super League player.

Players have still been asked to vote this year – nominating their selection on a five points, three points and one point basis – and they will be tallied as per previous years, and the subsequent findings put to the panel.

The panel consists of two current players – St Helens forward and 1eagu3 chairman Jon Wilkin and Widnes captain Jon Clarke – a former Man of Steel winner in Paul Sculthorpe, and two members of the media (one broadcast, one print).

The players were nominated through 1eagu3, and could not include a member from a club covered by a shortlisted player.

The five shortlisted players for the Man of Steel award come from Huddersfield (two), Wigan, Wakefield and Leeds, and are rumoured to be Danny Brough, Brett Ferres, Sam Tomkins, Danny Kirmond and Jamie Peacock.

Tomkins was the winner of the award in 2012, while Salford-bound stand-off Rangi Chase won in 2011.

Former St Helens and Warrington forward Sculthorpe won the Man of Steel award in 2001 and 2002.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.